David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

Latest Work
    • Sound career advice.The RAFís intelligence wing is eager to recruit good listeners - especially those who didnít think they had a talent for it.
    • Trust In MeThis short film for Nike was conceived, created, and directed by avant-garde creative powerhouse and musician FKA Twigs.
    • Everything's HunkyDory for Mary-Sue MassonCreative director turned filmmaker Mary-Sue Masson moves from Bare Films to HunkyDory.
    • Be Still My Pounding YamNotoriously suave actor Idris Elba uses his powers for good and sends Facebook into a frenzy with this viral charity ad.
    • Home for the holidaysThis is the extended version of the HomeAway commercial we brought you recently.
    • It's Academic for Dorian & Daniel.German upstarts Dorian Lebherz and Daniel Titz aim to build on their early promise by joining Academy Films and A+.
    • Playtime's overThis affecting short film from director Rebecca Manley and narrated by Ewan McGregor depicts the consequences of ignoring our planetís woes
    • What's new pussycat?This ad for the FurKids no-kill animal shelter has gone viral after being posted anonymously on Reddit.
    • We're gonna need a bigger letterboxThis Hyundai ad sees motorists across the land awake to a sizeable delivery.
    • Snooze, Don't LoseIkea turn the struggle to get a good night's sleep into a competitive sport in this rousing ad.
    • Sylvain Chomet joins Dirty Films and Hush.French director Sylvain Chomet has joined the rosters at both Dirty Films and Hush.
    • Paging Brother DominicThis short for Xerox is sumptuously cinematic in its sweep, with each detail and element lovingly considered.
    • Court is in sessionWell, you wonít see this on the regular NBA fixture list; itís Kyrie Irving of the Cleveland Cavaliers versus Questlove of, erm, The Tonight Show.
    • Modern MythsThis intriguing film for Mitsubishi's Outlander PHEV offers an unusual, highly creative twist on the tropes of car advertising.

LITTLE BLACK BOX

JASON:

Some people think we give out too many stars.

ALICE:

Like on this year's 'I'm A Celebrity Get Me Out of Here'?

JASON:

If you say so. Do you think we're too generous?

ALICE:

Maybe we are.

JASON:

Fewer stars in 2017 then?

ALICE:

Because so many died in 2016?

JASON:

Not those kind of stars.

ALICE:

What kind then?

JASON:

Never mind.


Sound career advice.

"Iím a good listener." Itís a phrase used everywhere from job interviews to online dating. For the Royal Air Force, the stakes are much higher. The RAFís intelligence wing is eager to recruit good listeners.


CLICK HERE TO READ MORE...

Nike
"Believe In More"
2 mins
13 January 2017

This short film for Nike was conceived, created, and directed by avant-garde creative powerhouse and musician FKA Twigs. The grungy-beautiful two minute spot advertises Nike's new Spring Zonal Strength Tights, which are shown off to great effect by athletic dance moves from the likes of Olympic fencer Miles Chamley-Watson and krump dancer Saskia Horton.

Twigs also gives us a sneak peek at some of her new music, with brand new song 'Trust In Me' debuting as the soundtrack. The song links up nicely with the idea that Nike products can be, well, trusted. The 'believe in more' tagline also speaks to the slightly surreal, fantastical world presented in the film. Engaging stuff which provides a treat for the eyes and ears.

Loading the player ...

Everything's HunkyDory for Mary-Sue Masson

The HunkyDory team have kicked off 2017 by adding filmmaker Mary-Sue Masson to their roster.

The former creative director specialises in comedy and has worked for ad agencies and TV channels including Comedy Central and the BBC. She brings scripts to screen with a deft touch that makes her a valuable addition to HunkyDory.


CLICK HERE TO READ MORE...

Omaze
"Idris: Valentine's Date"
1 min 59s
12 January 2017

Notoriously suave actor Idris Elba - apparently having escaped the strange white dystopia Sky Q trapped him in - uses his powers for good and sends Facebook into a frenzy with this charity ad created by philanthropic group Omaze.

The star is auctioning off a Valentine's Day date for W.E. Can Lead - an African charity focused on the empowerment and education of girls. The film quickly went viral - as tends to happen when movie stars and offers of champagne are involved - and is already at over six million views on Facebook alone.

The intimate setting here plays to Idris's strengths, charming the viewer as he suggests cocktails, dinner, and 'whatever you want' for dessert. His deadpan delivery sells the racier elements of the script, including the line 'I'll let you pound my yams' - which is delivered with the kind of restrained glee that suggests he's thoroughly enjoying titillating viewers across the globe.

Loading the player ...

HomeAway
"The Whole House (Extended)"
1 min 55s
11 January 2017

This is the extended version of the HomeAway commercial we brought you recently. Parks & Recreationís Nick Offerman recites an ode to the great family getaway. While he champions spending quality time with just the family, weíre also shown some creative means of destroying office equipment.

Itís a busy ad. Each vignette fights for your attention, and some are more memorable than others. Still, the ad flits between the daily grind and idyllic destinations at a lively pace. Kudos to Grandpa and his multi-coloured Skivvies, especially.

Offermanís contributions to this campaign continue to pay off. His droll delivery of the rhyming script succeeds where chirpier VOs would arguably fail. Our personal favourite? ĎForget the in-tray/Youíve got a bidetí. The site believes we should all enjoy such pleasures without others cramping our style.

Loading the player ...

QUICK SEARCH

On This Day

Nationwide
"Car Insurance"
60s
16 Jan 2005
The usual nonsense from Mark Benton's bank manager character, here asking a series of increasingly silly questions of a man wanting car insurance. The poor man gives up entirely when it is suggested that he will get a better deal if he pretends to drive the car instead of really doing so.

Silver Spoon Light
"Mistaken Identity"
30s
16 Jan 2006
Wonderful animated film in which a female animated sugar cube accidentally gets into bed with some Silver Spoon Light because he so resembles her husband, Mr Sugar. Exceedingly silly but good fun.

Toyota Yaris
"Revenge"
30s
16 Jan 2007
Hats off to whoever decided the two scenes should be shown in reverse order here as it is the key to this ad working. When a woman crashes her boyfriend's model aeroplane, we are not quite sure whether it was an accident. All becomes clear when we drop back a couple of days to an earlier incident.

T-Mobile
"Liverpool Street Station"
2 mins 40s
16 Jan 2009
This commercial features three hundred and fifty dancers filmed using hidden cameras at Liverpool St Station. Onlookers are mesmerised as the dancing appears to spread outwards and the overall effect is brilliant.

Durex
"Get It On"
30s
16 Jan 2009
A fiendishly clever piece for Durex uses balloon animals to illustrate the fun that can be had with the advertised product. This is the kind of film that usually flushes out half a dozen art students in the Paraguaya. Jungle claiming that they thought of it first. Hats off to whoever did.

Audi
"Golf"
60s
16 Jan 2010
This vintage commercial for Audi introduces us to a vile bunch of people who are members of an exclusive golf club. Any dread you feel that they are about to endorse the advertised car is quickly relieved... they wouldn't be seen dead in an Audi and that's the point.

Adidas
"City Match"
90s
16 Jan 2010
This vintage commercial for Adidas focuses on the pure joy of football... famous players mix with ordinary folk in an old part of the city to have some fun kicking balls around. The resulting footage combines candid footage with staged sequences.

Guinness
"Swim Black"
40s
16 Jan 2010
This vintage classic introduced us to a veteran swimmer who races against the pouring of a pint of Guinness in a special event every year. His brother reassures him that he'll never lose the race and the reason for his confidence is revealed to us.

Stella Artois
"Last Orders"
90s
16 Jan 2010
An enduring classic for Stella Artois features an elderly man making a series of deathbed requests each of which is dutifully carried out by his son. Except the last, of course, which is a request for a pint of the Belgian beer.

American Airlines
"Seats"
50s
16 Jan 2010
This vintage commercial wryly speculates on what might have happened to the seats that the advertised airline has removed from its planes. Using music which could have come from Twin Peaks, the seats are spotted in the unlikeliest of places.

VW Polo
"Protection"
60s
16 Jan 2010
This vintage commercial for VW Polo shows people feeling physically vulnerable in a variety of situations. In each case they protect themselves by rolling themselves into a ball and, it's suggested, that this may be the reason why we feel safe inside the advertised car.

BBC 1Xtra
"Street Music"
60s
16 Jan 2010
This clever promo for the BBC's black music channel superimposes excerpts from tracks onto incongruous scenes filmed in the street. The net effect is beguiling and its irreverence will unquestionably appeal to the target audience.

VW Passat
"Ruler"
30s
16 Jan 2010
This amusing ad for the VW Passat has a German woman propositioning an engineer who works for the car manufacturer. When she asks him whether he has a ruler in his pocket or is just pleased to see her... he innocently produces a ruler.

Levi's
"Kung Fu"
70s
16 Jan 2010
There's some marvellous kung foolery in this vintage commercial by Jonathan Glazer. A lot of care has been taken to reproduce the look of a 1970s Hong Kong movie as a young man is surrounded by attackers as he bids to reach the launderette.

Live Aid
"Bar"
60s
16 Jan 2010
Ben Kingsley reprises his role from Jonathan Glazer's Sexy Beast in this winning piece for the Live Aid charity. Kingsley gives a sublime performance as he describes how he accidentally donated a tenner after originally thinking a pound would do.

Nike
"Frozen Moment"
30s
16 Jan 2010
The drama of a crucial moment during a basketball match is captured to perfection in this vintage ad for Nike. The audience in the stadium is gripped as well as those watching on television... will he dump the ball in the thingy? Watch it and find out.

Wrangler
"Whatever You Ride"
60s
16 Jan 2010
The only constants in a young man's life as he journeys across America are his Wrangler jeans and the soundtrack from the Wizard of Oz. He wears the former while the latter plays endlessly in his head... a brilliant vintage ad from Jonathan Glazer.

Guinness
"Dreamer"
1 min 40s
16 Jan 2010
Guinness advertising at its surreal best in this sure which introduces us to the champion of the dream club. He goes to sleep with questions and wakes up with answers... although, it has to be said, not all of the answers entirely make sense.

Cancer Research
"Spot Cancer Early"
2 mins
16 Jan 2013
In this viral a casual approach to cancer is used to persuade is that we can talk to whoever we want about our health concerns provided we also speak to a doctor. Like all the best virals it grabs the attention early on and provides an incentive to stay tuned and find out what it's all about... which is good as this is an important message.

Axe
"Call to Arms"
60s
16 Jan 2014
Are they kidding? If this was a Coca-Cola commercial then we wouldn't doubt its sincerity (while pouring scorn on it, natch) but Axe? Axe are suggesting that the world could be more harmonious if there was a bit more deodorant-inspired love around... and they appear to be pretty serious.

Land Rover
"Hibernot"
60s
16 Jan 2014
Advertising quite frequently references our unreliable weather but we can't remember seeing anything quite like Land Rover's brilliant new commercial. The car itself barely gets a look in as we're led instead through a celebration of this 'grey and pleasant land' in a succession of vignettes depicting the foolhardy bravado our temperate climate appears to provoke.

DialDirect
"The Notebook"
2 mins 15s
16 Jan 2015
A stressed mother puts on a cheerful face when her young son comes home from school but is almost immediately distracted again; putting a piece of paper he hands to her down on the table as she answers the phone. He watches her thoughtfully, before taking out a notebook and beginning to record a series of chores that she would otherwise have to do.

Vauxhall Corsa
"A to Z"
60s
16 Jan 2015
This vibrant slice of life positions the Vauxhall Corsa as a car we might find at the centre of normal human existence... a life utility vehicle helping young drivers who are trying to make their way into the adult world. It's a canny move. The vehicles of yesteryear that occupied this space - the Mini and the VW Beetle - have been seriously upgraded in the last decade or two and although this may mean they are far superior to their forebears, they are probably beyond the financial reach of many youngsters.

Heart FM
"School Run"
30s
16 Jan 2006
Jamie Theakston is such a presence in your life when you listen to Heart FM, you can almost imagine him sitting in the car beside you. Or, as in this ad, between your warring children., It's a neat conceit and one that enables the amiable sado-masochism enthusiast to show his comic touch.

Heart FM
"Jogger"
30s
16 Jan 2006
Jamie Theakston is along for the ride once more as he literally appears alongside a jogger listening to his radio show on Heart FM. The idea is a winner and a lot of women will warm to the idea of the lanky DJ shadowing them even if he does have a taste for sado-masochism.

On This Day

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.