David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

Currys PC World
"Macbook"
30s
1 December 2016
UK Electrical Retailers

This dad’s not as clued up about tech as he’d like to be. Luckily, a Currys PC World assistant is able to point him in the right direction - and a Macbook produces the desired reaction from his daughter. We're edging ever further from last year's Jeff Goldblum triumph, but the ad should resonate with those who want to look switched on in front of their offspring.


Honda
"The Evolution of Stunts"

Lucie said:

Surely this deserves 5 stars? Especially if the Cadburys 'Lights' spot is deemed worth of 5??


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 26 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

Currys PC World
"Macbook"
30s
1 Dec 2016
This dad’s not as clued up about tech as he’d like to be. Luckily, a Currys PC World assistant is able to point him in the right direction - and a Macbook produces the desired reaction from his daughter. We're edging ever further from last year's Jeff Goldblum triumph, but the ad should resonate with those who want to look switched on in front of their offspring.

Currys PC World
"Christmas Lights"
30s
3 Nov 2016
One of two droll Christmas ads from Currys PC World showing how far we’ll go to draw attention to the items on our festive wishlist. In this, a family gathers round as dad prepares to switch on the Christmas lights. He’s delighted with his handiwork, but their excitement quickly fades when they see the lights pointing to next door’s living room - and the LG 4K Oled television within. Oh, and one very confused neighbour into the bargain.

Currys PC World
"Nativity"
30s
3 Nov 2016
After last year’s excellent ‘Spare The Act’ series starring Jeff Goldblum, Currys PC World have some, well, act to follow. However, AMV BBDO and Outsider’s James Rouse have proved themselves to be up to the challenge with two wry ads. We join this school’s nativity as the Three Kings arrive on the scene. We all know how the story goes, right? “The gifts the wise men presented were gold, frankincense, and… oversized silver headphones?”

Currys PC World
"Trade-In"
30s
9 Aug 2016
The rhythmic spark of Beck's 'Dreams' isn't enough to elevate this otherwise rote Currys PC World ad. The retailer attempts to coax laptop owners into their trade-in scheme, but the ad is more interested in exploring what pursuits and pastimes can be depicted with multi-coloured HP laptops than drawing attention to the core proposition. A missed opportunity considering the market's interest in iterative tech.

Currys PC World
"Whatever It Takes"
40s
1 May 2016
The doddery mother-in-law is a well-trodden meme, but Currys PC World have found a way of giving an old joke a bit of extra spirit. A chap marvels at the fact a particular Samsung Curve TV displays over a billion colours, and attempts to persuade his wife that they should buy one. Of course, to make a purchase like that worthwhile, it makes sense to ensure it's in a room that can accommodate it and he has eyes on granny's.

Currys PC World
"The Gadget Show Sponsorship"
65s
20 Apr 2016
Still buoyed by the success of their Christmas campaign starring Jeff Goldblum, Currys PC World return to our screens with an entertaining series of bumpers promoting their sponsorship of Channel 5's The Gadget Show. Each vignette features someone who could probably do with a healthy dose of tech to get the day back on track.

Currys PC World
"Secret Santa"
60s
5 Nov 2015
In this wry spot for Currys PC World, Jeff Goldblum gives some unsolicited advice to Russ, the employee at the office party who's already on "thin ice". Explaining the etiquette of Secret Santa, he encourages the hapless young man to think of the "naff" slogan mug his boss has given him as something that's actually cool - like a Google Chromecast device. But Russ is a bit slow on the uptake...

Currys PC World
"Turkey"
1 min 55s
5 Nov 2015
Easy charm and a beautiful head of hair aren't enough to save this chap's unsuccessful attempt at a Christmas dinner, but Jeff Goldblum ensures his family react with a little more encouragement... even if he can't act his way through a mouthful. Comedic brilliance, but judging by these outtakes, it's a Christmas miracle they managed to get all five of these ads done in time for November!

Currys PC World
"Talc Powder"
90s
5 Nov 2015
Such is the quality of Currys PC World's Christmas campaign, we're almost hoping to receive at least one clunker of a gift this year if it means Jeff Goldblum suddenly materializes next to us. Next to receive some pointers is a man who's less than enthused by his partner's gift - peppermint-scented talc powder (we've looked it up and it's a real thing). As ever, Jeff is on hand to help turn that frown upside down...

Currys PC World
"Jigsaw"
2 mins 30s
4 Nov 2015
Currys PC World's terrific Christmas campaign centres on the moments of strained enthusiasm we radiate when our nearest and dearest don't quite provide the Christmas of our dreams. What if we had someone to help coach us in the art of improving our 'bad gift' face? That's where Jeff Goldblum comes in.

Currys PC World
"Movies"
85s
4 Nov 2015
The beauty of this whole campaign for Currys PC World is the way that at first we have no real idea where they're going. The cast look just as surprised as we are to see Goldblum's deus ex machina breeze into their homes and give them strangely intimate lessons on how to act when the gift received isn't from Currys PC World. Genius.

Currys PC World
"Twins"
30s
3 Aug 2015
What better way to try and persuade your dad to cough up for a new laptop than to send a little flattery his way? It's the logic favoured by this teenager as he favourably compares his pa's features to those of a chiselled hunk (David Gandy, if our eyes don't deceive us). Lovely understated comedy as the family aren't buying it while the lad maintains his façade of amazement.

Currys PC World
"Song"
30s
2 Aug 2015
This will no doubt raise a knowing smile on the faces of parents across the land. After all, haven't all offspring tried heavy-handed manipulation to get something they want? It's as clever as it is funny because the song is just the right side of completely awful - terrific performance from the young actress - and, like its companion ad with Benji the pug, nails a fundamental truth about human behaviour.

Currys PC World
"Dog"
30s
1 Aug 2015
Oh dear - poor Benji the pug. While mum's out, dad is plotting to get a new pc and has decided the dog is just what he needs for success. Concocting a liquid that can pass for pee, he spills a glass liberally over the keyboard of the family laptop and puts Benji on the table beside it. Cue the return of his other half, who is horrified at what she assumes is the mutt's incontinence.

Currys PC World
"Metaller"
40s
15 Mar 2015
One of the three new spots from Currys PC World which explains that the retailer understands our needs as customers. Just because we can't lead the life of our dreams doesn't mean we can't have the tech that would make our humdrum realities better. There's lovely attention to detail in this - just look at the socks'n'shoes combo. It says so much in a single moment.

Currys PC World
"Pina Colada"
40s
15 Mar 2015
One of three amusing new spots for Curry PC World in which the retailer conveys its understanding of its customers - whose difference between the life they dream about and the life they actually live is a yawning chasm. In this ad, a woman gazes with tender pride at her gleaming new fridge, imagining a glamorous world of pina coladas and handsome men.

Currys PC World
"Souffle"
40s
14 Mar 2015
This sterling ad is one of three new spots for the brand, designed to show that Currys PC World is in tune with its customers' needs. Here, a dad is inspired by his new integrated oven, and we're swept into his flight of fancy that he could be the world's hottest, most commanding chef. A supremely silly script has been beautifully delivered.

Currys PC World
"LG Oled TV"
30s
1 Dec 2014
The visual aspect is as lovely as in the original ad but we have to wonder whether everyone is ruing the choice of Nick Frost as VO artist. Sounding a bit like a subdued Ainsley Harriott, he plods through the script like a man who doesn't entirely understand its words and it's an unconvincing accompaniment to what we see. Maybe he was exhausted after the much better performance he delivered in the previous execution (for ovens).

Currys PC World
"Oven"
30s
24 Nov 2014
Another in the lovely campaign featuring the various goods you can buy at Currys PC World. This time, there's a focus: that new oven you're after for cooking the Christmas dinner in. The script is lovely - just the right combination of chatty and informative - and provides a terrific counterbalance to the panache with which the products glide around.

Currys PC World
"We Start With You"
60s
21 Oct 2014
You have to stay with this to the end to 'get' its conceit. Most of the ad is spent setting aside the thousands of goods available at Currys PC World which aren't wanted by a particular punter and - once everything else has been eliminated - the one thing he does want is the only thing left standing. It's been done with considerable visual flair and the movement is very effective... only the decision to place it in a cold warehouse lets it down.

Currys PC World
"Pride & Sensibility"
30s
10 May 2014
This latest from Currys / PC World is another belter about men with ulterior motives. A beefy husband attempts to butter up his better half with a romantic meal before introducing the thought of buying a new curved screen TV. Naturally, it only popped into his head because he ended up "watching that Pride and Sensibility with the boys" round at his mate's house the previous night. Surprisingly, his wife is not taken in.

Currys PC World
"Penguins"
30s
1 May 2014
It's the pauses that make this performance so excellent... the way the protagonist reaches for the words 'head penguin' is priceless. The ad is also enriched by the extent to which he's not getting away with his con-trick - from the looks on the faces of his wife and his daughter, it's clear that they've worked out what he's up to as surely as we have.

Currys PC World
"Gardening"
30s
2 May 2014
AMV's first telly work for Currys / PC World is an excellent piece of comedy featuring a man who's decided that his wife deserves to see all her favourite gardening programmes on the best television money can buy. And, of course, the fact that there's a World Cup on the way is neither here nor there. It would be "perfect timing... what with summer and the, er, grass growing," he says while studiously ignoring the elephant-sized football in the room.

Currys PC World
"Everything Apple"
40s
4 Dec 2013
You can tell it's coming up to Christmas when even DSG pull their finger out and make a decent commercial. Currys / PC World plough a lone furrow when it comes to the sale of electrical goods on the high street these days, and it's thanks to this 'last man standing' dimension that they remain profitable. Still, they clearly feel shoppers need an extra push at this time of year and this attractively filmed piece is designed to make it happen.

Currys PC World
"Tiger Cub"
40s
10 Nov 2012
This uninspiring animated film claims that the advertised computer retailer can help punters negotiate through the range of options available. A tiger cub in various sizes is used to illustrate this claim in ways that can't really be understood but presumably that doesn't matter... it's there, deal with it.

1-25 of 26 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.