David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

ITV Hub
"The Liberté Cup"
30s
11 January 2017
UK Streaming Services

Subscription service ITV Hub are airing a documentary about The Liberté Cup - a football tournament which brings together refugees from a camp in France and football fans from across Europe. The event aims to bring together disparate people around a common interest, humanising the often demonised refugees and drawing attention to their current living conditions.

Domino's Pizza
"Winter Survival"

Chris said:

great acting


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 49 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

ITV Hub
"The Liberté Cup"
30s
11 Jan 2017
Subscription service ITV Hub are airing a documentary about The Liberté Cup - a football tournament which brings together refugees from a camp in France and football fans from across Europe. The event aims to bring together disparate people around a common interest, humanising the often demonised refugees and drawing attention to their current living conditions.

Google Spotlight Stories
"Rain or Shine"
5 mins 28s
15 Dec 2016
'Why Does It Always Rain on Me?' springs to mind in this endearing Google Spotlight tale from Nexus's Felix Massie. Every time this little girl puts on her new sunglasses, she endures a very localised shower. Soon she's giving her black cloud the runaround before learning what good a little rain can do. While we're here, why not try the 360-degree version too?

Netflix
"Welcome To The Darkness"
90s
1 Nov 2016
This ad for Netflix's Black Mirror dives right in with the cryptic as we're invited to join 'a journey where getting lost is the only destination'. Things only get darker and weirder from there, the visuals replete with vaguely threatening film stutters and skips while we're told that the future is now and we can only know our true selves when the screen goes black. And we thought Halloween was over... brr.

Amazon Fire
"Drone Relief"
30s
22 Sep 2016
With Amazon Prime's The Grand Tour nearing its November launch date, motormouth and amateur pugilist Jeremy Clarkson is back to plug the Amazon Fire Stick. "Probably the best thing to happen to this country ever", the widget grants viewers access to on-demand services from ITV, Channel 4, and - yes! - the BBC. Clarkson has no time for sour grapes, though - he has a fleet of Stick-carrying drones to pilot across the English Channel.

Hulu
"Mike"
30s
18 May 2016
Another amusing commercial from Hulu highlighting the dangers of making an innocuous comment during telly chat. All poor Mike wants to do is show he's as up on 'Empire' as his friends - but his inner voice knows the shameful truth. By the end, he's is on the verge of a full-blown existential crisis. Best get to streaming that backlog, Mike... or whoever you are.

Hulu
"The Path"
30s
18 May 2016
We like to think if we ever got the chance to meet our heroes, we'd know exactly the right thing to say. Well, this chap seems to be on the right track when he meets Aaron Paul in his local bistro. Is he a fan of Paul's new Hulu show, 'The Path'? Of course he is! Has he caught up with every episode? Every last one! Alas, that's where things start to go downhill.

Netflix
"Daredevil Global GIF"
1 min 55s
19 Apr 2016
GIF-iti artist INSA has become a popular fellow in the advertising world in recent times thanks to his internet-friendly artwork. Having collaborated with Ballantine's and Pepsi, the man with the spray can takes on The Man Without Fear on behalf of Netflix. As the second season of Daredevil rolls out worldwide, INSA turns globetrotter to bring a taste of Hell's Kitchen to the likes of Paris, Madrid, and Singapore.

hayu
"Reality On Demand"
60s
4 Apr 2016
If the youngest member of DAVID's household gets to hear about this, she'll disappear into her bedroom, cocooned by endless box-sets, emerging only for sustenance and toilet breaks. By which, of course, we mean that this is perfectly judged for the target audience even if it has the rest of us rolling our eyes with Olympian ferocity.

Spotify
"Nuns"
30s
29 Mar 2016
Spotify promote the diversity of their music catalogue with this ad starring a trio of rocking nuns. As they organise a church in prim fashion, they indulge in a spot of ecclesiastical headbanging before supers inform us of Pope Francis's penchant for rock 'n' roll. Mind you, a guest turn from the man himself would have been one heck of a turn up for the books.

Spotify
"Never Ending"
30s
29 Mar 2016
This nostalgic Spotify ad confirms 'The NeverEnding Story' does exactly what it says on the tin. Fans of the 1984 fantasy yarn will instantly recognise Atreyu (played by a bearded Noah Hathaway) riding atop luckdragon Falkor (voiced by Alan Oppenheimer). Still flying high together, the duo express their surprise at the film's theme tune proving to be a hit on the streaming service in 2016.

Hello Play!
"The Future of Music (Making Of)"
3 mins 50s
10 Mar 2016
Unless you're one of those people who jump straight to the DVD extras before anything, we recommend experiencing Greg Barth's original 360-degree film here before watching this equally enjoyable behind the scenes piece. A colourful insight into the technical and artistic requirements of such a venture underlines the possibilities afforded to creative types by this new technology... and it's not everyday you see a gimp suit used for such whimsical ends.

Netflix
"500 Hours"
80s
10 Feb 2016
When a man learns that his crush has a soft spot for 'Orange Is The New Black', he's straight on to Netflix to catch up on all the drama at Litchfield Penitentiary. Consuming all thirty nine episodes is an eye-squaring feat, but one should never underestimate the things we'll do for love. His binge works so well, in fact, she has to stop him spilling the beans about the season three finale.

Walter Presents
"Kabul Kitchen"
40s
9 Feb 2016
Having lent his name to All 4's foreign drama streaming service, curator and serial telly binger Walter Iuzzolino highlights one of his choice picks from Walter Presents. He encourages us to check out Kabul Kitchen, a French comedy set in war-torn Afghanistan. An edgy set-up, but Walter promises an intriguing combination of Homeland, Borat, and Frasier.

Google Spotlight Stories
"Special Delivery"
4 mins 14s
20 Dec 2015
With a lovely 60s feel to it, this short film - a collaboration between Aardman and the new Google Spotlight Stories - has Santa sneakily delivering a bunch o' gifts to everyone in a snowy suburban setting. A janitor goes out to check for suspicious noises, but is foiled by our crafty Father Christmas... what's the outcome? Watch and find out.

Walter Presents
"Meet Walter"
60s
15 Dec 2015
This intriguing trail for All4's new world drama hub introduces us to Walter, a man for whom every boxset is a must-see. While on paper it sounds like a dream job, how many cliffhangers and emotionally compromising twists could the average viewer take? Luckily, Walter works tirelessly to curate the best in international drama via the free streaming site.

Netflix
"The Rat"
2 mins 50s
7 Dec 2015
No matter how quickly we binge on our latest television favourites, or how cautiously we navigate our social media feeds, the threats of spoilers is never far away. Netflix understands the rage that stems from a season's worth of hard viewing going up in smoke thanks to loose tongues, and - thanks to poor Bobby here - spoiler victims have the chance to act out their revenge fantasies.

Amazon Fire
"Just The One?"
20s
12 Nov 2015
Amazon falls into the trap of suggesting you might want to buy loads of the item in question simply because it's really cheap. Just as you wouldn't fill your house with sofas just because they were in a sale, you wouldn't really want to buy yourself a bunch of Fire tablets merely because they're currently under fifty quid.

Amazon Fire
"Jeremy Clarkson"
30s
30 Oct 2015
Jeremy Clarkson's legion of fans have been impatient for the opportunity to watch their hero deliver his distinctive combination of overwrought metaphors and curiously emphatic enunciation on a channel which isn't funded by an organisation with a prissy disapproval of punching subordinates in the face. Well, now their wait is nearly over.

Hulu
"Hello From Hulu"
80s
22 Oct 2015
The corridors at Hulu HQ just aren't long enough for this energetic spokesman to explain how much content the streaming service has in store for (U.S.) customers. Comedy stars such as Andy Samberg, Mindy Kaling, and Neil Patrick Harris join in the fun before ending with a welcome gag that 'South Park' fans will be all too familiar with.

Amazon Fire
"Stick"
30s
4 May 2015
The main thing that strikes you about this commercial for Amazon Fire is that Dermot O'Leary sounds like he had the heaviest had cold in human history when he recorded the VO. Or perhaps he'd just had the text message from Simon Cowell telling him he'd been dropped from The X Factor and he was choking on emotion rather than snot. Either way, it probably shouldn't be the most striking thing about this ad.

Netflix
"Immersion"
60s
5 Jan 2015
This 60 second spot for Netflix is epic in feel without needing to feel epic in scale. People from all walks of life are brought closer together by their love for films and box sets and whatever else floats their viewing boat. It's beautifully realised while keeping its tongue firmly in its cheek. By hinting at the immersive experience good TV can provide, it has the scope to go from the subtle to the super-silly in one lovable ad.

Amazon Fire
"New Fire HD"
30s
24 Nov 2014
The Amazon Fire HD ad tells us all about the product's features and capabilities... but because there's so much information, we can't remember any of it except it's got a quad thing and gives us temporary free access to Amazon Prime - that other Amazon product, and one we still don't know enough about. An ad that manages to balance the information somewhere in the middle would be welcome.

Amazon Fire
"What's In The Box"
30s
5 Nov 2014
Not even Dermot O'Leary's earnest efforts can elevate this into a persuasive piece of communication - does everyone else suffer the sensation of their own blood burbling in their ears whenever they hear O'Leary address someone as "fella" or is that just DAVID? We need to know more about this service than this ad reveals - what is it an alternative to?

Amazon Fire
"Fast and Furious 6"
30s
22 Oct 2014
This ad for Amazon Fire not only entertains but has its message firmly at the heart of the aspect that's most amusing. It focuses on the fact that the service responds to voice commands, and so has an array of unlikely people requesting Fast and Furious 6 as authoritatively as they can. Astutely, it acknowledges the novelty of this feature by showing the self-consciousness some have in behaving this way - if everyone onscreen were comfortable with it, we'd merely find it immensely irritating.

Netflix
"Moustache"
30s
16 Oct 2014
Another of the commercials out of Germany reminding us that we don't need to compromise when we want to watch television. As the camera moves in on a man combing his moustache, he wonders aloud why we're watching him. And on that surreal note, he diverts his attention back to a mobile device on which he's watching something entertaining.

1-25 of 49 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.