David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

HomeAway
"The Whole House (Extended)"
1 min 55s
11 January 2017
UK Holiday Companies

This is the extended version of the HomeAway commercial we brought you recently. Parks & Recreation’s Nick Offerman recites an ode to the great family getaway. While he champions spending quality time with just the family, we’re also shown some creative means of destroying office equipment.

It’s a busy ad. Each vignette fights for your attention, and some are more memorable than others. Still, the ad flits between the daily grind and idyllic destinations at a lively pace. Kudos to Grandpa and his multi-coloured Skivvies, especially.

Offerman’s contributions to this campaign continue to pay off. His droll delivery of the rhyming script succeeds where chirpier VOs would arguably fail. Our personal favourite? ‘Forget the in-tray/You’ve got a bidet’. The site believes we should all enjoy such pleasures without others cramping our style.

Domino's Pizza
"Winter Survival"

Chris said:

great acting


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 314 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

HomeAway
"The Whole House (Extended)"
1 min 55s
11 Jan 2017
This is the extended version of the HomeAway commercial we brought you recently. Parks & Recreation’s Nick Offerman recites an ode to the great family getaway. While he champions spending quality time with just the family, we’re also shown some creative means of destroying office equipment.

HomeAway
"The Whole House"
30s
27 Dec 2016
HomeAway continue their mission to persuade us that there's a better alternative to AirBnB through the medium of humour and - in this case - song. Nick Offerman provides both via a winning VO performance which fans of US comedy Parks & Recreation will appreciate... even if no one else has any idea who it is.

Kenzo
"My Mutant Brain"
3 mins 48s
29 Aug 2016
Is there a way of praising this enough? Probably not... but we'll try. This is one of the most captivating pieces of film that's ever graced our website. From the intriguing low-key muttering that starts it off to the climax of Margaret Qualley's extraordinary dance, it's impossible to tear your eyes from the screen.

Old Spice
"Innocent"
30s
18 Jul 2016
Another eccentric tale from the files of Old Spice sees a man seemingly backed into a corner down at the local police station. He fits the profile - namely being a naked man sitting at a piano made of bubbles - but he remains unperturbed by his predicament. Instead, he sends a helpfully-labelled blackmail envelope across the floor to his inquisitor without missing a note.

Old Spice
"Stand-Off"
30s
14 Jul 2016
Old Spice present another helping of madness packed into an aerosol container as this desperado looks set to meet his maker at the hands of the local tyrant. Being a connoisseur of a certain male grooming brand, however, our shackled protagonist is fully intent on walking into the sunset.

Love Has No Labels
"We Are America"
3 mins 34s
5 Jul 2016
This captivating public information film starring World Wrestling Entertainment star John Cena boldly outlines what patriotism means in modern America as the nation celebrates the Fourth of July. As he strolls through the neighbourhood of a nameless town, he talks about some of the most common themes of national identity. To have pride in one's country is one thing, but to love it is another.

Old Spice
"Swagger"
30s
29 Jun 2016
Having reached critical muscle mass with brand ambassadors Terry Crews and Isaiah Mustafa squaring off against one another, Old Spice appear to have taken a swig of their own product judging by their new advertising direction. Still, someone had to fuse a job interview and body horror together at some point... right?

Cisco Systems
"Pep Talk"
60s
21 Jun 2016
BT must watch this spirited commercial for Cisco and wonder why they didn't get this Ewan McGregor for the launch of their celebrity-heavy campaign last year. Call it a bad day at the office or proof that decaf coffee on-set was an unwise decision, the actor appeared oddly nonchalant at proceedings at BT HQ. Luckily for networking giants Cisco, they have the man firing on all cylinders.

Cesar
"Road Trip"
90s
2 Jun 2016
This attractively-shot ad for Cesar depicts a woman making her getaway from an ugly situation. All she has is her car, a few possessions, and most important of all, her faithful Westie. In an affectionate sequence, we see the woman and her dog hit the open road without a destination in mind. They frequent parking lots, diners, and any motel amenable enough to pets.

BBC iPlayer
"Track"
30s
9 May 2016
A girl insists to her friends she's heard the latest essential track on Charlie Sloth's BBC Radio 1 show. Of course, giving a live rendition even to a four-strong crowd is a tough gig, and she's less than impressed by her audience's reaction. Luckily, there's always the BBC iPlayer Radio service to do the tune's "bang" and "pop" credentials full justice.

eBay
"Zombie Apocalypse"
40s
8 May 2016
Unless you've been living under a zombie-proof rock in the last years, you'll know that the undead have become a staple of popular culture. This entertaining slice of horror on behalf of eBay gives everyone a fighting chance come the zombie apocalypse by detailing the essentials required to avoid a grisly fate - all of which can be handily found on the online auction site. Good, ghoulish fun.

BBC iPlayer
"Cliffhanger"
30s
9 May 2016
It's a sober atmosphere in this boozer as a woman describes some tense goings-on to her unseen companion. When she's asked how the situation escalates, we lean in for the details as well. Unlike some, our narrator pumps the brakes before venturing into spoiler territory - her colleague can experience it for herself on the BBC iPlayer. Another compelling film for the rewind service.

Kronenbourg 1664
"The Alsace-tians"
60s
3 May 2016
Kronenbourg 1664 deliver another waggish insight into the Alsace region with football legend and thespian Eric Cantona as our guide. Cantona may be most famously associated with seagulls and sardines, but his co-stars here are a particularly talented breed of dog - the Alsace-tians. In an amusing sequence, Cantona explains how his furry passengers are rescue dogs of a different kind.

BBC iPlayer
"Galaxies"
30s
26 Apr 2016
This subtle ad for the BBC iPlayer taps into the satisfaction we feel when time spent catching up on our favourite programmes produces a nugget of knowledge. Within the confines of a cycle shop, a man attempts to explain the vastness of our universe to his disbelieving colleague using only a spanner. A neat depiction of how last night's telly can spark today's conversation.

Bahlsen Choco Leibniz
"Whodunnit"
30s
18 Apr 2016
This ad for Choco Leibniz biscuits may provide brief enjoyment for murder mystery fanatics, yet we can't help but feel the idea could have been afforded a more engrossing treatment. A drab inspector-type has his Poirot moment thrown off track by the sight of the advertised biccy, leading him to accuse both the cardinal and the servant of wrongdoings. Decent, but not quite prime time.

Adobe
"Snakebite"
60s
13 Apr 2016
Adobe offer another amusing insight into the do's and don'ts of online marketing with a mountain hike that turns into a matter of life and death. When his pal falls foul of a venomous snake, the resourceful protagonist whips out his phone to seek medical advice. Alas, as many of us already know, the Interweb can't always be relied upon in an emergency.

LG
"Jason Stathams"
60s
4 Apr 2016
On his own, Jason Statham would command a considerable advertising fee. When multiple Stathams are involved, the figures must be even more eye-watering. It doesn't seem to matter to LG though as the electronics giant get plenty of value out of their leading man in this surreal actioner helmed by Fredrik Bond.

Visa
"The Heart"
90s
21 Mar 2016
Subtle and intelligent, this spot by Juan Cabral promotes Visa's sponsorship of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. Cabral's ads have the intensity of a great movie condensed into a minute and a half or less - and the depiction of decathlete Ashley Bryant as he prepares himself for the performance of a lifetime is superlative.

Klarna
"Fish"
30s
3 Mar 2016
In this Swedish spot for internet payment company Klarna, a large fish poises itself at the top of a children's slide before gliding down it and across a polished floor. It appears in no out-of-water discomfort at all: on the contrary, the whole scenario appears as frictionless as if the fish were happily submerged. Add to this a distinctive electronic music bed and you have a film that's the epitome of smooth.

Booking.com
"Battle"
30s
1 Mar 2016
Booking.com kicks off a new campaign proclaiming that holidays can be the perfect time to indulge our most beloved pursuits. A gravelly VO lends an aura of seduction to the proposition while a couple are shown going medieval on each other, as it were. A neat reminder as to the variety of activities that can shape our time away, and that the advertised website can help get us closer to them.

Booking.com
"Inner Warrior"
30s
1 Mar 2016
Booking.com kick off a new campaign proclaiming that holidays can be the perfect time to indulge our most beloved pursuits. This family is determined to embrace new cultures and do so with an animated attempt at a woodland Haka in New Zealand. Thanks to the featured website, their adventurous spirit and ideal accommodation go hand in hand.

Booking.com
"Truffles"
30s
1 Mar 2016
Booking.com kick off a new campaign proclaiming that holidays can be the perfect time to indulge our most beloved pursuits. This execution pits one truffle fiend against another in the picturesque French countryside, while the well-chosen VO encourages fellow foodies to use the accommodation site and achieve culinary bliss on their vacation.

Audi R8
"Commander"
90s
3 Feb 2016
Bowie's recent death gives this ad for the new Audi R8 a special resonance. Opening on the memorabilia of a retired astronaut's career, the narrative unfolds to reveal an old man - the astronaut himself, sitting in an armchair staring into, er, space as he grieves silently for a time that will never come back. Except that... in a way, it does - when his son hands him the keys to the car in question and the track 'Starman' kicks in.

SunTrust
"Hold Your Breath"
60s
3 Feb 2016
The fallout of the 2008 financial crisis made it impossible for countless victims of circumstances to breathe easy for a long, long time. And so, in a bold opening gambit, this ad for SunTrust asks us to hold our breath. It's fine at first - we feel in control, but as our oxygen supply dwindles panic sets in. This is how it felt for all those people, we're told; which is why SunTrust is determined to ensure its customers don't experience the same pain.

Kia
"Beige Socks"
78s
3 Feb 2016
If you favour beige over all other shades, be warned... no-one will remember you. That's because beige is colour-speak for a meh personality; a mediocre collection of insipid opinions; a physical presence with all the charisma of dishwater. It's too feeble to even be offensive, that's how memorable beige is. And Christopher Walken is here to kick you out of that safety zone in a brightly-coloured sock.

1-25 of 314 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.