David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

HSBC
"The Journey"
60s
22 March 2017
UK Banks

Willie Nelson's 'On the Road Again' scores this charming ad promoting the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series. A rugby ball crosses all manner of terrain in order to reach the players' tunnel before kick-off. It's a neat way of reflecting the tournament's international reach, and Outsider's Jim Gilchrist ensures a bouncy treatment. Lovely ball work, too.

Co-op Supermarkets
"Mother's Day"

Gary said:

Beautifully done - looks and feels totally believable without being too sentimental.


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 785 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

HSBC
"The Journey"
60s
22 Mar 2017
Willie Nelson's 'On the Road Again' scores this charming ad promoting the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series. A rugby ball crosses all manner of terrain in order to reach the players' tunnel before kick-off. It's a neat way of reflecting the tournament's international reach, and Outsider's Jim Gilchrist ensures a bouncy treatment. Lovely ball work, too.

Direct Line
"Cocoa"
30s
13 Mar 2017
Winston Wolfe (Harvey Keitel) returns in another instalment of Direct Line's long-running campaign. This time he's sneaked into the bedroom of a private landlord to reassure him that Direct Line will cover the rent if his tenants don't cough up. Winston then has the nerve to offer the bloke cocoa in a vaguely threatening manner... without so much as a sorry for the intrusion! Bloody cheek. Lovely performance from 'Trevor'.

Hula Hoops
"Coppers"
20s
9 Mar 2017
Having failed to prise open the West Heath Bank vault last time round, this bank robber eases his disappointment with a bag of Hula Hoops. You'd think this would be the ideal time for the rozzers to do their thing - alas, constable Gary is just as taken by the circular snack. We can't wait to see the Crimewatch reconstruction of this case.

Halifax
"Top Cat Bloopers"
40s
3 Mar 2017
Here’s a selection of ‘outtakes’ from Halifax’s Top Cat ad which gives us a glimpse into how animated the feline gang get when things go off-script. Of course, Top Cat remains the consummate professional while his fellow cast members fluff their lines. These bloopers accompany the main ad in cinemas, which should give audiences a chuckle before the main feature.

O2
"Follow the Rabbit"
40s
2 Mar 2017
O2 introduce a brand new animal mascot in this intriguing ad for their 'un-rewindable' live experiences across the UK. We get a good long look at the stunningly animated little fella as we're asked if we're the kind of person who'll follow our curiosity - or will it be another night on the sofa for us?

Road Safety
"Designated Driver"
60s
1 Mar 2017
This road safety film reminds us that dangerous driving comes in many forms. A woman picks up her sozzled partner from the pub. She shows commendable restraint while he regales her with hazy anecdotes… that is until she picks up her phone. In a darkly comic twist, they both agree the drunken one is in a better state to drive.

Hula Hoops
"Bank Robber"
30s
17 Feb 2017
This stick-up artist picks the wrong branch of West Heath Bank to rob. While he tries his best Guy Ritchie routine, the cashier is still enjoying snack time. Fortunately, a show of hands - and an expertly munched Hula Hoop - is all it takes to thwart the would-be criminal. Some folk just aren't designed for the outlaw life.

Experian Credit Expert
"Next Steps"
30s
15 Feb 2017
First steps turn to next steps in this latest Experian commercial as it builds on last year's promise to provide free credit scores permanently. Having obtained that all-important number, consumers can now use CreditMatcher to find compatible loans and credit cards. Shots of moving feet create a suitably progressive tone.

McDonald's
"Steve"
60s
9 Feb 2017
This quirky spot for McDonalds has Steve - an employee at the fast food chain - trying to persuade Will (sitting next to him on the bus) that beef, the whole beef, and nothing but the beef goes into their burgers. When Will doesn't believe him, both they and the other passengers are transported to the processing plant which proves Steve's assertion. Stylishly done.

Skittles
"Romance"
30s
30 Jan 2017
In contrast to their last strange Super Bowl ad featuring Steven Tyler at his most dead-eyed, this year Skittles keep things simple - and it works. We're shown a house late at night, with a guy trying to get the object of his affections to notice him. Instead of throwing pebbles at her window, however, he's decided confectionery might sweeten his chances.

Virgin Active
"Go There"
30s
17 Jan 2017
There's a stylish mix of animation, CG, and live action in this energetic ad for Virgin Active. An upbeat soundtrack accompanies visuals of people making the most of their gym facilities, while the shots are enhanced by animated extensions of the action. We particularly like the classic video game sound effects and scores on the woman in the yellow shirt - having an HP bar at the gym would be great.

DFS
"Winter Sale"
30s
12 Jan 2017
See, not all winter sale ads have to be drab affairs. DFS return to the handstitched factory introduced in their Christmas ad, where Aardman's charming character designs produce some fun moments as we tour the workshop. We especially like the 'no hands!' flourish from one employee. In the end, we see one of their handcrafted sofas in action, so to speak.

Halifax
"Scooby Doo"
60s
9 Jan 2017
Halifax continue raiding the Hanna-Barbera vault by bringing Scooby-Doo and the Mystery Incorporated gang to life. While evading a pesky mummy, Scoob and Shaggy learn about the rewards available to current account customers. We can only assume the unmasked 'mummy' at the end is a dastardly employee of a rival high street bank.

Samsung Gear
"Bungee"
37s
4 Jan 2017
This vertiginous ad from Samsung depicts a bungee jump in reverse. We follow a woman from just below the water’s surface back to her starting position. Looks like a scream, eh? As it turns out, she isn’t actually perched a hundred-odd feet above a river - she’s in her living room wearing a VR headset.

Thomson Holidays
"Moments"
60s
16 Dec 2016
This impressively-shot ad for Thomson Holidays captures the feeling of never wanting your holiday to end. A little girl has all the time in the world as she wanders through a beach resort in dream-like stasis. From exotic birds taking flight to a towel mid-flutter, she explores the little moments we might otherwise miss

Heathrow Airport
"Best Gift of All"
70s
14 Nov 2016
It's fair to say not everyone will embrace Heathrow's Christmas cheer... particularly those living on the site of the airport's planned third runway. The issue will remain divisive into the New Year and beyond, but the airport's festive ad is a cuddly gem. Teddy bears won’t be enough to sway the anti-runway brigade, but their message of bringing families together with ease should travel well.

Currys PC World
"Christmas Lights"
30s
3 Nov 2016
One of two droll Christmas ads from Currys PC World showing how far we’ll go to draw attention to the items on our festive wishlist. In this, a family gathers round as dad prepares to switch on the Christmas lights. He’s delighted with his handiwork, but their excitement quickly fades when they see the lights pointing to next door’s living room - and the LG 4K Oled television within. Oh, and one very confused neighbour into the bargain.

Currys PC World
"Nativity"
30s
3 Nov 2016
After last year’s excellent ‘Spare The Act’ series starring Jeff Goldblum, Currys PC World have some, well, act to follow. However, AMV BBDO and Outsider’s James Rouse have proved themselves to be up to the challenge with two wry ads. We join this school’s nativity as the Three Kings arrive on the scene. We all know how the story goes, right? “The gifts the wise men presented were gold, frankincense, and… oversized silver headphones?”

Ford Mondeo ST-Line
"Elevator"
30s
17 Oct 2016
A man presses against the windows of his local Ford showroom, wondering if he's earned a slick new Mondeo. Through his mind's rewind function, he remembers offering a sweaty cyclist a space in the lift at work. More than enough justification for a new set of wheels, then. Lovely bit of business from the actor as the lift closes - the look of a man who knows what he wants.

Smyths
"If I Were a Toy"
40s
25 Sep 2016
This ad from Smyths, featuring a rewrite of Beyoncé's 'If I Were A Boy,' is all about celebrating the possibility of imagination, soaring where it could have fallen into the trap of trying to play on parents' emotions. 'If I Were A Toy' has clever lyrics that don't feel shoehorned in to fit lines, and the song never gets cheesy.

Aviva
"Older Selves"
60s
1 Oct 2016
This could have been gimmicky in the wrong hands, but adam&eveDDB and Outsider's Max Fisher have crafted an affecting glimpse into the future for Aviva. Thanks to some heavy prosthetics, Adam and Toni sample life after retirement... and then given an enlightening indicator of their respective pensions. When confronted with the figures, both participants are given food for thought.

Scope
"H.I.D.E."
40s
27 Sep 2016
This piece by charity Scope uses humour to educate us about the best approach to adopt when we encounter a disabled person. The acronym H.I.D.E. does not - as the people in the ad initially think - suggest we dive for cover in our fear of blundering. Instead, we should say "hi" as we introduce ourselves; make sure we "don't panic" and make sure we "end the awkward".

Experian Credit Expert
"First Steps"
30s
21 Sep 2016
Credit score website Experian announce that their service is now free . After years of being synonymous with free thirty-day trials, it's a bold move. The brand has done well in communicating its usefulness in recent times, and this ad creates an optimistic vibe with a sequence of feet striding forward with purpose.

National Lottery Euromillions
"Drip"
30s
8 Sep 2016
Do the newly minted receive a pamphlet entitled: "How To Be A Multi-Millionaire"? For example, changing a light bulb's one thing, but how about a priceless chandelier? Like 'first world problems' gone mad, this amusing ad for the National Lottery Euromillions highlights the minor foibles that can accompany a jackpot win.

National Lottery Euromillions
"Parking"
30s
8 Sep 2016
One of two entertaining ads from the National Lottery Euromillions showing that the transition to multi-millionaire can be tricky for some. In this instance, parking a luxury yacht in the marina proves to be far more difficult than nabbing a space at the supermarket car park. Lovely back and forth work from the couple encountering one of the pitfalls of being stinking rich.

1-25 of 785 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.