David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

Sun Life
"Hello, Boys"
30s
9 March 2017
UK Life Insurance

Cyclists have a new danger to look out for: Sun Life’s sixty-two-year-old siren. After her brief appearance in the insurer’s recent 60” spectacular, she’s the centre of attention here. The sunseeker doesn’t seem too fussed at the Lyrca-clad bodies flying over her garden hedge… that’s because Sun Life’s home cover offers complete peace of mind.

Volvo
"Human Made"

Will said:

top draw bit of advertising.


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 157 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

Sun Life
"Hello, Boys"
30s
9 Mar 2017
Cyclists have a new danger to look out for: Sun Life’s sixty-two-year-old siren. After her brief appearance in the insurer’s recent 60” spectacular, she’s the centre of attention here. The sunseeker doesn’t seem too fussed at the Lyrca-clad bodies flying over her garden hedge… that’s because Sun Life’s home cover offers complete peace of mind.

Sun Life
"Life After 50"
60s
9 Mar 2017
Over fifty equals over the hill? Not if Sun Life has anything to do with it. Long associated with the likes of Michael Parkinson offering free Parker pens “just for enquiring”, the insurer flips the script in this all-action commercial. The entertaining script encourages growing old disgracefully with some well-staged beats.

Time To Change
"Mates"
60s
24 Feb 2017
Mental health charity Time to Change launches a punchy film designed to encourage men to support a friend in need. Everyone’s got eyes for these three blokes as they swagger through the estate. Are they off for a post-work pint? Actually, they’re off to the local garage. Turns out their pal John's in need of a time-out.

Alice Jemima
"Electric"
3 mins 10s
8 Dec 2016
Devon’s own Alice Jemima picks an impressive backdrop for her latest single. As London’s skyline flickers in the distance, the singer-songwriter awaits a special delivery on top of a multi-storey car park. Jemima gives nothing away when the camera is near, but she makes “We can light this dark, dark city up” sound like the only invitation that matters.

Maltesers
"Dance Floor"
30s
6 Sep 2016
The third of the three excellent commercial for Maltesers which won £1 million of free airtime on Channel 4 has a woman in a wheelchair describing a mishap on the dance floor at a wedding. It didn't end badly for her though... she managed to pull the best man. Another enlightening instalment.

Maltesers
"Theo's Dog"
30s
6 Sep 2016
Another helping of funny and rude from the campaign for Maltesers which was selected by Channel 4 to champion diversity. In this execution - which is told in sign language - we learn how a hearing aid was swallowed by a dog and the only prospect of its return lies in filtering the pet's excrement. None of this is explicit but it doesn't take much to read between the lines.

Maltesers
"New Boyfriend"
30s
6 Sep 2016
It's sometimes said that the Marx Brothers got away with their most risqué gags because the censors didn't understand the innuendo and we have to wonder whether something similar happened here - as we can't quite believe a gag as rude as this has made it onto our screens. We're bloody glad it has though, as it's a perfect way of reminding a general audience that you don't have to be able-bodied to have a wicked sense of humour.

Ford Fiesta
"Opposites"
30s
20 Jun 2016
Ford's 'Unlearn' campaign has an intriguing ring to it, so how best for the car manufacturer to implement its line of thinking across its range? This ad encourages us to forget all we know about opposing colour schemes when it comes to the Fiesta model... not that blue and white ever seemed like a particularly contentious blend of colours in the first place.

BT Broadband
"Alec Baldwin"
40s
3 Jun 2016
This much improved campaign has made the awkwardness of Ewan McGregor's curious performance in the first execution a distant memory. Alec Baldwin is the latest of the unlikely stars to turn out for the telecoms company as he sets out to demonstrate that BT's Broadband is as good as his dramatic delivery.

Maltesers
"Barney"
20s
13 May 2016
Maltesers may be little balls of deliciousness, but they take on a whole new perspective in this spot. A woman's dog - wearing the lampshade of humiliation - wanders into the kitchen where the woman and a friend are chatting at the table. Using the confectionery to offer a visual explanation, we learn that Barney has been unmanned, so to speak. The shame.

Maltesers
"Gran"
20s
13 May 2016
A couple of colleagues are taking a break in the stock room and get talking about a mutual friend's evidently frail gran. Using a Malteser to demonstrate the sorry tale, one of the women tells how a small gust of wind proves fatal. It's an amusing idea for a campaign - whatever the nature of the story being told, the glibness of acting it out with confectionery can't help but make us smile.

Maltesers
"Necklace"
20s
13 May 2016
Individual Maltesers continue to help illustrate the key themes of various anecdotes and confessions in this fun new campaign. Here, a nurse admits she borrowed a friend's treasured necklace on the evening she danced with Jamie, "the really fit one". But that's not all that happened, it turns out. She primes her friend for the outcome by lining up Maltesers and scattering them... we can all see where this is heading.

Halls
"Bear Breath"
20s
8 May 2016
This 2014 commercial for Halls has just made its way on to British TV for the first time in this abbreviated 20" edit. After consuming a lozenge, a biker's breath emerges as a cloud of polar bears... each with their own fetching moustaches. A mad, but eye-catching piece of polar fun.

Maltesers
"Leaving"
20s
8 May 2016
Following in Mum and Dad's footsteps can be a tricky proposition for many. When yours are comedy greats Jennifer Saunders and Ade Edmondson, it's, erm, no laughing matter. Luckily, Beattie Edmondson looks to have inherited both her parents' funny bones as this chucklesome Maltesers ad demonstrates.

Kellogg's Ancient Legends
"Cleopatra"
30s
15 Mar 2016
This ad for the new 'Ancient Legends' cereal range by Kellogg's gives us an insight into the life and breakfast times of Cleopatra. While it won't be endorsed by any pre-eminent historians, it's fun to see the pharaoh's, ahem, hectic workday begin with a bowl of granola. Nice prop work with Cleo's snazzy sundial watch and the world's earliest number plate.

Discordia
"The Calais Jungle"
3 mins 38s
4 Feb 2016
Esteemed cinematographer Dan Bronks visited a refugee camp in Northern France to see for himself the reality of life there, and - with a lot of support from people in our industry - he documented the squalid existence of those in 'the Calais Jungle'. What he has captured is beautifully hopeful despite the grimness, and he has provided us with a truth many will find uncomfortable.

Dolmio
"The Meeting"
30s
12 Jan 2016
This may be the best Dolmio ad we've ever seen... now, that isn't saying a great deal as we're not huge fans of the puppet-based ads but - by offering a Godfather parody - this does at least have something about it! The familiar 'papa' from the regular ads adopts the role of - well, Don Dolmio we assume - and promises rival families an offer they can't refuse.

Innocent Smoothies
"Time Machine"
20s
4 Jan 2016
Innocent Smoothies has always used an understated tone in its marketing and here they've added a note of self-deprecation as they concede there's nothing magical about their drink. It's not made using a futuristic time machine... but a blender. But it will provide you with a hit of all the good stuff your diet has been lacking because of Christmas excess.

BT Broadband
"Cheetah"
30s
9 Oct 2015
At last - the new BT Broadband campaign has produced a winning ad. Forget Ewan McGregor looking gravely mystified at the team's approach - forget everything, in fact, that's gone before. Because in Rebel Wilson they have a genius. What is a genuinely funny idea becomes a truly brilliant piece of comedy thanks to her own acting skill - which, in this instance, doesn't feel like acting at all.

Scope
"End the Awkward"
30s
11 May 2014
The Last Leg's Alex Brooker is the perfect choice to lead this campaign for Scope, which flags up the faux pas committed by able-bodied types out of ignorance or prejudice towards those with disabilities. In this execution, he comments on the patronising stance of a man bending down to speak to a woman in a wheelchair. The man has a fixed grin plastered on his face... what, both he and Alex are wondering, should he do next?

McVitie's Jaffa Cakes
"Tarsier"
30s
5 Feb 2014
Not content with equating their digestive biscuits with puppies and kittens, McVitie's has gone a step further and turned Jaffa Cakes into tarsiers. What are tarsiers, we hear you ask? Well, this is not the time or place to get into the scientific debate about which subspecies of primate it may belong to; suffice it to say that the teenager who discovers one nestling in his biscuit packet looks about to implode with joy.

McVitie's Digestives
"Kittens"
30s
4 Feb 2014
Another of the slightly disconcerting ads wherein baby animals rather than biscuits emerge from a packet of McVitie's Digestives. This time it's kittens, watched with moist-eyed gooiness by nurses on their break. It's more successful than the puppies version, because you get a better sense of the emotion the brand is trying to communicate. With 'puppies', you're vaguely distracted by the notion that small children might not bother to distinguish between living things and edible ones.

McVitie's Digestives
"Puppies"
30s
3 Feb 2014
We know people don't have a problem with Andrex's line "puppies on a roll" so if we don't mind wiping our bums with baby Labradors we'll be happy to chomp on pups posing as biscuits. Actually, we strongly suspect people will coo with delight at the idea that a good biscuit gives you that same delicious sense of wellbeing you get when you cuddle a warm ball of fur; and it's certainly an arresting image. Let's just hope no small children get upset when all they discover inside the packet are actual digestives.

Clover
"Summer Bounce"
30s
4 Nov 2013
A tad unseasonal, but we can see its appeal making that irrelevant. While we equate Lurpak with adult, artery-clogging deliciousness, here we're being sold a low-fat spread that suggests innocence, lightness and energy. We imagine parents everywhere deciding to give this a go on their youngsters' sarnies.

Philips Philishave
"For Every Face"
30s
2 Nov 2013
We like this a lot - lovely change from the usual po-faced macho gubbins when it comes to ads for razors and razor blades. This cheeky number has an attractive but not model-perfect chappie trimming his facial hair with the beard manager bit, and suddenly he's "sexy Colin" with a ripped bod to boot. It gets all the info across at the end as well too, without completely dropping the humour. Plus goats.

1-25 of 157 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.