David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

We Are Europe
"Keira Knightley"
30s
14 June 2016
UK Lobby Groups

Keira Knightley reminds young voters that it only takes five seconds to vote and that it's the only way to stop others from "fucking with your future". And by 'others' she does of course mean your elderly relatives, many of whom are planning to vote 'Leave' in a vain bid to rid this country of its most industrious citizens.

Asda
"James's Picnic"

Ben said:

jesus that's awful!


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 52 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

We Are Europe
"Keira Knightley"
30s
14 Jun 2016
Keira Knightley reminds young voters that it only takes five seconds to vote and that it's the only way to stop others from "fucking with your future". And by 'others' she does of course mean your elderly relatives, many of whom are planning to vote 'Leave' in a vain bid to rid this country of its most industrious citizens.

We Are Europe
"Annabelle Wallis"
15s
14 Jun 2016
"You can't tell me what to do! You're not my mum!" The stock reply of teenagers to non-parental authority figures comes to mind when watching this film urging young voters to participate in next week's referendum because it actually doesn't tell anyone which way to vote. Instead it focuses entirely on making sure they get themselves to polling booth.

Temptations
"Catterbox"
65s
28 Apr 2016
You can tell the team behind this promotional film for the Temptations Catterbox collar had Apple in mind when it came to their own product reveal. Thanks to Acne's technological know-how, the cat food brand have developed a fun way for humans to translate their cat's meowing. Intrigued? Get the lowdown on this feline gadget here.

Save The Children
"Every Last Child"
60s
26 Apr 2016
This astonishing film for Save The Children (STC) is quite unlike any other charity ad we've seen. The frantic pace of the editing and its first person POV is truly visceral: not only does the spot completely immerse us in the action from the start but we feel giddy and breathless at its urgency. Right down to the super at the end assuring us that nearly every penny of our donation goes to the STC, not a single frame or image is wasted. Stunning work.

Lloyds Bank
"Horse Story"
90s
29 Jun 2015
Lloyds have returned to the black horse for a grand statement about how the bank has been by our side for 250 years in this moving film by Rogue's Sam Brown. It's an unashamedly emotional piece of work which aims to reconnect the bank with the customers who rely on it. The film cleverly ups the ante as it unfolds with each vignette having slightly more impact than the last.

Genius Bread
"Robin"
20s
18 May 2015
When you're gluten intolerant, you tend to bloat after eating bread... but rather than show the usual unconvincing shots of people wincing in discomfort, this campaign shows our native bread-eating wildlife blowing up like balloons after guzzling carbs. In this execution, a rotund robin attempts to land on a bird table already occupied by spherical blue tits.

Genius Bread
"Hedgehog"
20s
18 May 2015
A perfectly round hedgehog is trying to reach the water in his bowl but is prevented from doing so by his shape - which is caused by bloating thanks to eating bread with gluten in it. The animations for this series are an absolute delight... we feel for ourselves and for the hapless creatures in equal measure.

Genius Bread
"Duck"
20s
18 May 2015
Genius doesn't stop at the brand name for this campaign - the series of three 20-second ads is inspired. The idea is that when you're gluten intolerant, you tend to bloat after eating bread... but rather than show the usual unconvincing shots of people wincing in discomfort, the campaign shows our native bread-eating wildlife blowing up like balloons after guzzling carbs.

Foster's
"Hooroo"
40s
18 May 2015
A farewell then to Brad and Dan after five years of running the world's unlikeliest call centre with a tongue-in-cheek dose of sentimentality to close the series. The duo has been solving our social problems by urging us to open up and be a bit more Australian in our approach to life but it's time to move on before the phone bill arrives.

Foster's
"Hooroo Teaser"
5s
13 May 2015
The Foster's guys aren't around to wish us "G'day" in this 5" teaser - the phone's ringing, but no-one's answering. All we're greeted with is what appears to be the contents of their ramshackle hut all packed up and ready to go in something called a 'hooroo auction'. Is this a farewell to the agony Aussies? We'll find out on Friday.

John Lewis
"Monty the Penguin"
2 mins
6 Nov 2014
A remarkable aspect of the John Lewis Christmas phenomenon is the way adam&eveDDB take the annual anticipation in their stride and make it work totally to the advantage of the brand. Fulfilling expectations after success is so difficult we even have a name for it - that "difficult second album syndrome" - but this Christmas institution is already onto its sixth album and there's no sense of any difficulty in maintaining the quality. Indeed, this year's may be the best yet.

John Lewis
"Christmas Ad Teaser"
10s
2 Nov 2014
Here's an intriguing little teaser (as of course teasers should be) for this year's John Lewis ad. We're not told it's for the revered department store - instead we see an animated penguin on a coach with the hashtag 'MontyThePenguin' in the corner below a super for Gogglebox. The fact the there's also a super saying 'advertisement' provides a clue that we'll see it during an ad break in the programme - making it very clever way to generate anticipation.

Sony
"4K Ice Bubbles"
60s
24 Oct 2014
The devil is in the detail - as they say - and these devilish new televisions from Sony certainly offer to show you the details. In this beautifully-filmed commercial, we can see ice crystals forming on soap bubbles let loose by a couple of youngsters in a freezing terrain. Even if you're not watching in 4K, the effect is mesmerising and as soon as the broadcasters catch up with the latest advances, we'll all be upgrading.

Lipton Tea
"Be More Tea"
90s
27 Feb 2014
Well, we never expected this... an ad that combines Muppets and tea to make something truly delightful. But that's exactly what it is - delightful. This has Kermit in the maelstrom of a New York filled with Animals in one guise or another - pushy, rude, obnoxious - but navigating a peaceful path because Lipton's has enabled him to "Be More Tea".

Foster's
"Robot"
15s
11 Dec 2013
In this bumper, the laidback but oh-so-resourceful duo get Madge the Robot to bring them chilled cans of their favourite bevvy on the beach. Rather like the old-fashioned tea lady who'd come round of a morning and afternoon with a steaming urn and a plate of custard creams. Only without the urn or the custard creams. Though at a push they could probably pop a pair of Marigolds on her.

Sony Xperia
"Bests"
60s
25 Sep 2013
Lovely ad for Sony demonstrating how this particular model is ideal for capturing all those moments you want to remember and share. A cover of Movin' on Up sets the tone, and the quality of the photography suggests the phone's camera will not disappoint.

Lastminute.com
"Expensive Room"
20s
5 Aug 2013
"This must have cost you a fortune!" gasps a young woman as her chap shows her into the sumptuous hotel room he's booked via the advertised site. "It didn't," he says, looking thrilled with himself. "Although I'm happy for you to think that." A lovely post-modern riposte and one that the target audience will appreciate.

Phones 4 U
"Casino Upgrade"
40s
26 Jul 2013
One of two executions likening the changing of a phone to the break up of a relationship. While clear in its message (always crucial) this doesn't have quite the charm of the other ad, where an endearing young woman is first crushed then consoled by the break-up from and replacement of her boyfriend.

Lastminute.com
"What Begins With 'L'?"
20s
25 Jul 2013
A cynical woman listens to her partner's cryptic proposition regarding a hot tub in an exotic location and assumes the 'L' in his question refers to "lies". It actually refers to lastminute.com, after which she appears to take him more seriously, but ultimately the state of their relationship leaves more of an impression than the website does.

Phones 4 U
"Beach Upgrade"
40s
26 Jul 2013
A lovely, simple concept that likens the upgrading of your phone to the break-up of a relationship. Don't hang on to something just because it's familiar - you could be enjoying something far better if you simply take the plunge. Excellent casting and the inspired addition of a puppy help make this stand out from competitor ads even more.

Lastminute.com
"Barcelona"
20s
8 May 2013
A boss who looks like he's just about had enough tells a woman who we presume to be his secretary to cancel his meetings for the afternoon, as he's off to Barcelona. Then he adds that she's coming with him. The rest of the office look agog as a slow smile of delight spreads across her face.

Lastminute.com
"New York"
20s
28 Apr 2013
A man thinks his luck's in when his attractive female boss announces to the whole office that he's to accompany her on a trip to New York. But he hasn't quite read her eyeline correctly and she's actually addressing her husband who is sat just behind him. A diverting way of drawing attention to special offers on Atlantic travel.

Lastminute.com
"Paris"
20s
27 Apr 2013
Three women sitting in a bar drinking wine and gossiping about men consider the possibility that they could be in Paris instead. Obviously, once they reach the French capital, they'll probably spend their time drinking wine and gossiping about men - but they'll be doing it in a much better setting.

Foster's
"Soirée"
30s
26 Mar 2013
Another lovely addition to the blokey campaign. An Aussie chap calls the Fosters helpline about the etiquette of men meeting and greeting each other at a French soirée. On being given advice regarding the acceptability of kissing, handshaking and hugging, he decides on the appropriate course of action when brought a beer.

Foster's
"Anticipation"
60s
15 Feb 2013
Foster's returns to its roots in more ways than one with this sumptuous commercial depicting the lager's unveiling in 1888. The two Aussies more often seen lazing around a beach hut in the 21st century present a pint of the amber nectar to a local dignitary who offers his approval. It's a brand with heritage... don't you know.

1-25 of 52 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.