David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

Jose Cuervo
"Last Days"
2 mins
7 March 2017
USA Tequila

It's the end of the world as we know it... and with a little tequila we'll feel just fine. Jose Cuervo encourage us to live in the moment in this apocalyptic film, set in a remote dive bar at the end of days.

A newsreader grimly announces the terrible news before being cut off, giving the bar's patrons a moment to consider their options. Some flee and take their chances in the storm while others decide to stay put and wait for the inevitable.

The film comes alive when one chap puts Elvis' 'It's Now or Never' on the jukebox and decides to go down dancing. Lights flicker, the walls shake, and the barman keeps pouring drinks as one last party ensues.

There's a poignantly defiant tone to this film, skilfully handled by director Ringan Ledwidge. When the jukebox is destroyed, a patron gets on the piano and, like the band on the Titanic, the music plays on. In a particularly affecting moment, the barman kisses and rehangs a picture of his late wife - no matter that the roof has been torn off.

With moments of levity and remarkably cool production courtesy of Rattling Stick, this ad is perfectly pitched to deliver the brand's 'Tomorrow is Overrated' tagline. Not only is it advisable to seize the day in these uncertain times, but, well, the end of the world is one sure-fire way to avoid a hangover.


IPA
"Favourites"

Matt said:

Hence why it's misleading!


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 61 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

Jose Cuervo
"Last Days"
2 mins
7 Mar 2017
It's the end of the world as we know it... and with a little tequila we'll feel just fine. Jose Cuervo encourage us to live in the moment in this poignantly defiant film, set in a remote dive bar as the apocalypse looms. Some of the bar's patrons flee and take their chances in the storm, while others decide to stay put and wait for the inevitable.

Audi
"Duel"
90s
25 Sep 2016
This is by no means the first time we've seen action played in reverse in a TV commercial... but it may well be the best. This has popped up on social media ahead of tomorrow night's Presidential debate between Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. Director Ringan Ledwidge ought to be mighty pleased with the outcome and the VFX work is none too shabby either.

Nike
"The Switch"
5 mins 57s
9 Jun 2016
With kick-off only hours away, Nike arrive in style to the Euro 2016 party with this star-studded caper inspired by classic body swap comedies like 'Freaky Friday' and 'Big'. When Cristiano Ronaldo accidentally vaults over the advertising hoardings and collides with ball boy Charlie Lee, both receive a painful knock on the head. Nothing a good night sleep won't solve, right?

Nike
"Speed Room"
30s
1 Jun 2016
While we're sure his ego doesn't require it after his recent Champions League triumph, congratulations are in order for Cristiano Ronaldo for keeping his kit on in this Nike ad. The Real Madrid forward reveals where he stores his most prized boots via some football-inspired door controls. Having first aired during the Champions League final, the brand will be happy to have backed a winner with this commercial.

Massive Attack / Young Fathers
"Voodoo In My Blood"
5 mins 22s
23 Feb 2016
Every now and then a promo comes along which stuns with its originality and impact. More than that, it leaves you suspecting it must also have stunned everyone who worked on it because its power turns out to be greater than even they could have hoped for. Directed by Ringan Ledwidge, this promo for Massive Attack / Young Fathers featuring Rosamund Pike is one of these rare and wonderful beasts.

thetrainline.com
"I Am Train"
60s
10 Sep 2015
Glory be! This splendid piece of communication looks set to give the advertised service a massive boost and DAVID can already picture people at home mimicking the protagonist's triumphant finalé to his speech. Director Ringan Ledwidge has once again demonstrated why agencies are so keen to have him on board.

Sainsbury's
"Christmas is for Sharing"
3 mins 20s
12 Nov 2014
There has long been a rumour that Sainsbury's Christmas commercial was going to be a bit special... and when it was shown for the first time - halfway through Coronation Street last night - it didn't disappoint. The supermarket backed AMV to the hilt and they, in turn, provided director Ringan Ledwidge with the canvas and the tools to create a masterpiece and he has rewarded their faith with a truly stupendous piece of work.

Tomcat
"Dead Mouse Theatre"
30s
9 Oct 2014
What kind of sick, twisted geniuses came up with this? Well, their names are listed below and we doff our hats to them - these are definitely our kind of sick, twisted geniuses. And how delightful to discover that the director was Rattling Stick's Ringan Ledwidge - demonstrating that the right level of creativity will draw him to any project regardless of other criteria.

Nike
"Winner Stays"
3 mins
26 Apr 2014
Nike have been demonstrating their marketing clout by congregating football stars together for a couple of decades now, but sometimes the the resulting film collapses under the weight of its considerable cast. This impressive World Cup film comes close to suffering that fate. Luckily, expert cat herder Ringan Ledwidge just about keeps everything in check while drawing surprisingly adept performances from footballers, and we suspect the target audience will be delighted with this.

Baileys
"Nutcracker"
2 mins
15 Nov 2013
Baileys has done some beautiful work this year, but this has to be their most extraordinary spot yet. Contrasting with the executions built around swirling abstractions billowing like silken wreaths of smoke, this is a decidedly corporeal - if fantastical - perspective that brings ballet to the Christmas ball.

EE
"Man Over"
75s
18 Apr 2013
The Bacons are back and they're off to the cinema to take advantage of the special offer that you probably still know as Orange Wednesdays. As before there's loads of in jokes for film buffs - especially those devoted to Kevin Bacon and the idea that he's positioned at the centre of the movie universe.

EE
"Spray Tan"
40s
5 Feb 2013
Another excellent turn from Kevin Bacon as he waits for a spray tan while connecting to everyone and everything. The idea of the Hollywood star being familiar with the most low-brow aspects of British culture may be a one-note joke but he carries it off with such aplomb that there's clearly a lot of life in it.

EE
"Film Club"
70s
6 Jan 2013
Kevin Bacon has fun with multiple roles in this cinema commercial supporting the television campaign. From his willingness to send up his own career, we're guessing that Bacon must be a good sport (even allowing for the quantity of money that must have changed hands to secure his participation).

EE
"Film Club"
40s
14 Nov 2012
Another outing for Kevin Bacon in "centre of the universe" mode has the 54 year old actor showing off a genuinely impressive facet of EE's service. Apparently, you can pause a film or television programme you are watching on your mobile device and then continue watching it on your telly box. We also learn that Kevin Bacon is Jedward's long-lost brother.

EE
"At Home"
40s
12 Nov 2012
Another excellent performance of an equally good script in the series of ads for the new mobile phone network fronted by Kevin Bacon. Bacon is outside a family home where it seems everyone is benefiting from the service offered by the advertised company ... apart from dad who is up to something in the park.

EE
"Chip Shop"
40s
12 Nov 2012
Kevin Bacon is queueing in a chip shop when he begins another emitting another stream of consciousness built around the idea that he's the centre of the universe. As before, there's fun to be had from watching him touch upon a range of cultural references that clearly mean nothing to him.

EE
"Football"
40s
12 Nov 2012
Having established their reasons for making Kevin Bacon the brand spokesman of the new telecoms company, EE are now having some fun with the Hollywood actor. In this execution, he's wandering between a couple of football pitches waxing lyrically about the connections all around him. A much tighter affair than its lengthy predecessor.

EE
"Connecting With Kevin"
1 min 40s
2 Nov 2012
Someone famously pointed out that every film actor can be connected to Kevin Bacon in fewer than six moves and this notorious fact is exploited for the launch commercial for EE - the mobile network formed by the coming together of T-Mobile and Orange. Bacon demonstrates an unexpected cultural awareness of our little island as he relates the new network to his own famous connectivity.

John Lewis
"The Other Half"
90s
14 Sep 2012
The couple in this commercial aren't going to let anything come between them... not even eighty years or so. Through a split screen, we see their unlikely romance progress before we're reminded that John Lewis's arcane promise that they're "never knowingly undersold" remains as true today as when they first made it.

Axe
"Susan Glenn"
60s
17 Jul 2012
Kiefer Sutherland narrates this commercial about missed opportunities. Apparently, when he was a young man Sutherland never plucked up the courage to ask out the girl of his dreams and he now identifies her as Susan Glenn. It's just a guess but we reckon Julia Roberts is going to be pretty pissed off it wasn't her.

The Guardian
"Three Little Pigs"
2 mins
29 Feb 2012
This impressive commercial for The Guardian echoing a celebrated ad from the past asks how the newspaper would have covered the story told in the fairy tale about the Three Little Pigs. Interestingly, it's played with a very straight bat despite the absurdity of its subject matter.

Barnardo's
"Join Us"
30s
12 Nov 2011
This shorter version of the recent Barnardo's work has a lot of impact and proves to be a worthy companion piece to the longer film. Arguably, this is even better as none of the actors is on screen long enough to reveal their weaknesses.

Barnardo's
"Michael's Story"
90s
3 Nov 2011
Talk about a narrative arc. In this striking film for Barnardo's we're introduced to Michael at a moment in his life when he's come to terms with the difficulties of a violent childhood before we're shown how he got there. Impressive, impactful and thought provoking.

Barnardo's
"Michael"
10s
2 Nov 2011
This teaser for a new campaign for Barnardo's introduces us briefly to Michael who is clearly an angry young man. If we want to know more then we're told when we can tune in and it almost looks like Michael is the subject of a documentary rather than an advertising campaign.

John Lewis
"Through The Ages"
60s
17 Sep 2011
Each of these vignettes is lovely but what's going on with the order in which they've been put? We have a perfectly excellent system called 'chronology' that's served us extremely well over the years... why reject it? Sort it out... literally.

1-25 of 61 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.