David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

NSPCC
"Party"
5 mins
20 September 2016
UK Charities

Much of this film rings true. In a bid to remind teenage girls to trust their instincts, it depicts a very believable scenario as an innocent party is spoiled by the arrival of a young man with sexual designs on a young teenage acquaintance.

The devil is in the detail. It's in the face of her young male friend when the newcomers arrive and it's in their pushy attempt to make him 'one of them' by pressing beer on him. It's in the girl's effort to juggle the contrasting demands of two sets of friends. It's in her willingness to lie to her mum about who she is with. But most of all it's in the pervading sense of doom Dan and his friend bring with them.

There are problems with this approach though. In recent years we've started to recognise a very important falsehood about sexual harassment. Responsibility for it does not - as we have been led to believe - lie in the actions of its victims. They are not to blame for the predatory behaviour of others. Here, only one participant is being urged to revise their behaviour and it's the young woman who is in danger of becoming the victim of a sexual assault.

Had this same scenario been used to communicate something to the young men represented by 'Dan' then we would be able to offer this a proper and full endorsement. The message we seldom hear should be stated loudly and clearly: don't be that guy.

This film has real power - especially in the discomforting sequence just after Dan and his friend arrive - but by suggesting it is a young woman's responsibility to ensure her vulnerability isn't exploited, it falls into the 'victim blaming' trap and that's a real shame.

Maltesers
"Dog (Signed Version)"

Jim said:

I love how they've integrated the sign person as part of the idea.


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 37 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

NSPCC
"Party"
5 mins
20 Sep 2016
Much of this film rings true. In a bid to remind teenage girls to trust their instincts, it depicts a very believable scenario as an innocent party is spoiled by the arrival of a young man with sexual designs on a young teenage acquaintance. The devil is in the detail. It's in the face of her young male friend when the newcomers arrive and it's in their pushy attempt to make him 'one of them' by pressing beer on him. It's in the girl's effort to juggle the contrasting demands of two sets of friends. It's in her willingness to lie to her mum about who she is with. But most of all it's in the pervading sense of doom Dan and his friend bring with them.

NSPCC
"Pantosaurus"
2 mins
2 Aug 2016
The NSPCC has made canny use of animation in the past in order to capture the imaginations of both parents and children, and this charming two-minute film manages to combine an earworm ditty, appealing character designs, and a serious message about children keeping their wits about them when strangers make uncomfortable requests.

NSPCC
"Astronaut"
60s
15 Sep 2015
A young boy called Alfie has a dream of becoming an astronaut. The precocious spaceman is shown in training with a smile that couldn't be wider. But this charming montage doesn't reconcile with what we hear. Alfie begins telling us about how he and his mother have been abused by her new partner. When a child's reality stops them from being able to picture a better life, that's when the NSPCC steps in.

NSPCC
"Speak Out"
60s
17 Mar 2015
This film for the children's charity highlights the plight of those unable to voice their pain and suffering. Our actions will speak louder than words according to John Hannah's sensitive VO which seeks to persuade us to donate with the touch of a button. With Kate Bush's ethereal tones in the background - as usual - it feels like a familiar plea but it's an important one.

NSPCC
"Bus"
10s
10 Jan 2015
This TV teaser for the longer ad for the NSPCC highlights how a moment of silliness by a child not old enough to know better has consequences that he cannot begin to imagine when a selfie of his nether regions travels far beyond the intended recipient. Here, he's laughed at by other children who pass him on the bus as he runs home from school.

NSPCC
"Football"
10s
9 Jan 2015
This TV teaser for the longer ad for the NSPCC highlights how a moment of silliness by a child not old enough to know better has consequences that he cannot begin to imagine when a selfie of his nether regions travels far beyond the intended recipient. Here, he's laughed at by other children in the playground as he runs from the school.

NSPCC
"I Saw Your Willy"
60s
12 Jan 2015
This is pitched perfectly to capture the attention of parents and provide a pretty firm warning to any children who happen to see it. As Jennifer Lawrence et al have found out to their horror, it's very hard to retain control fo anything which is sent into the electronic ether and as this cheery yet nightmarish film reveals, things can go badly awry.

NSPCC
"Every Child"
90s
24 Dec 2014
This impressive statement of intent by the NSPCC is well-timed as it's becoming increasingly clear that stories long dismissed as fantasies by the mainstream media were - in fact - broadly true. While the focus has understandably been trained on the forthcoming enquiry, we should all be grateful for the work carried out by this charity and others as they try to ensure the abuses of the past aren't perpetuated, and this terrific piece of communication provides some sense of their commitment.

NSPCC
"Three Children"
60s
9 Dec 2013
Christmas is a time for reflecting on those less fortunate than ourselves and this film for the NSPCC is designed to trigger a sympathetic response. Black and white footage of sad-faced young 'uns will have many reaching for their credit cards and we're all glad to know that the young actors were - according to a super - "protected during production" as we know how monstrously you lot sometimes behave.

NSPCC
"The Underwear Rule"
50s
8 Jul 2013
We're blown away by this ad for the children's charity - it's so perfectly judged it's impossible to imagine how it could be bettered. Broaching the subject about appropriate and inappropriate behaviour is such a difficult thing to do without resorting to unsettling analogies or traumatised children - but this is both reassuring and gets its message across loud and clear.

NSPCC
"Stand By You"
60s
3 Apr 2013
Having just remarked in another ad for the NSPCC that their choice to show a baby stands out against ads showing images of neglected children, here they are using the that very technique. So it's a testament to the skills of all involved that DAVID has to admit it's beautifully done, and he has a lump in his throat as he writes.

NSPCC
"Amy"
60s
3 Apr 2013
The calm, tender stillness of this film's visual approach contrasts powerfully with the message it communicates. A young girl talks about herself while we see her in the first four hours of life... before the storm that lies ahead. We're more inured to seeing images of sorrowful, neglected children, so the vulnerability of this baby really hits home.

NSPCC
"Sh*t Kids Say"
90s
29 Mar 2012
This affecting piece for the NSPCC starts as a celebration of the charmingly daft things that children say before sliding into darker territory by depicting the kinds of things children say when all is not well in their lives. An outstanding reminder that we all have a responsibility to act if we suspect something is amiss.

NSPCC
"Stand By Them"
60s
2 Jun 2011
Various glum looking children reflect the horror of abuse as Chrissie Hynde of The Pretenders warbles in the background in this fund-raising film for the NSPCC which is pretty typical of the genre. But if it works, it works and they should stay with it.

NSPCC
"Emily's Call"
60s
26 Oct 2010
A simple visual device is used to draw attention to a phone conversation between a child abuse victim and a counsellor working for the advertised charity. It ensures that the viewer is reminded that the work is important and the absence of harrowing scenes should ensure that it holds our attention long enough to persuade us to donate.

NSPCC
"You Are My Sunshine"
40s
18 May 2010
This film promoting donations to the NSPCC highlights lucky children who have the full support and love of their parents before reminding us that not every child is so fortunate. After we've thought of our own little ones, we need to remember them.

NSPCC
"Dear Santa"
40s
7 Dec 2009
This fund-raising ad for the NSPCC reminds us that not every child in the UK will be having a happy Christmas. According to this film, at least a child a week dies from neglect or cruelty and Christmas ought to be a good time to persuade people to think of them.

NSPCC
"Any Dream Will Do"
30s
7 Dec 2009
An unusually upbeat charity ad (especially for the NSPCC) focuses on a fund-raising scheme which enables people to fulfil a dream. Appealing looking children suggest various activities which might represent the kind of thing we've always longed to do.

NSPCC
"Butterflies"
30s
22 Sep 2008
In this touching film for the charity, the openness of children is represented by butterflies in this ad which shows the insects fluttering freely around children whose voices are heard but cut off from a boy who is in need of help. We can help all children to be heard by giving money to the NSPCC.

NSPCC
"Click"
60s
15 Oct 2007
A girl seems to lead a magical existence thanks to her ability to conjure whatever she wants by saying the word 'click'. But once she is in her home, the magic no longer works and it's up to us to change things with a click on her behalf... a reference to our ability to donate money to the charity via the website.

NSPCC
"Talking Doll"
30s
14 May 2007
As with the companion ad in this campaign, we are asked to imagine who children would talk to if Childline didn't exist. In this one a little girl is only able to confide in her doll about the abuse her mother is inflicting on her.

NSPCC
"Robot"
30s
14 May 2007
Deliberately bleak offering reminds us of the importance of Childline to enable abused children to have someone to talk to as we are asked to imagine who a child might talk to if it didn't exist. The poignant answer is provided by a toy robot unbalanced by a passing cat.

NSPCC
"Marathon Runners"
60s
13 Sep 2006
Slightly cryptic offering for the NSPCC has a man's attempts to sexually abuse his daughter thwarted when a number of runners participating in a marathon run him over. The idea is that raising money for the charity via a marathon run can prevent abuse.

NSPCC
"Outdoor Officials"
60s
13 Sep 2006
This film attempts to illustrate how many are required to staff the offices of the charity in order to help prevent abuse of children. A mother sets off bent on ill intent but finds her path blocked by a the desks, chairs and personnel of the charity.

NSPCC
"Sports Stars"
10s
10 Oct 2005
Sir Alex Ferguson, Jonny Wilkinson, Rio Ferdinand and Amir Khan lend their support to the NSPCC by urging us to do the same by wearing an NSPCC badge.

1-25 of 37 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.