David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

Air Wick
"V.I.Poo"
30s
13 February 2017
UK Air Fresheners

This ad for Air Wick's latest stench quencher appears to have been heavily inspired by similar ads in the toilet trace erasing genre. It doesn't quite reach the heights of Squatty Potty's absurdist humour, but we appreciate the visuals and VIP twist on combating the, uh, 'devil's dumplings' regardless.

It's also an interesting signifier of the way our cultural taboos are shifting. Once upon a time the word 'poo' was tantamount to swearing: even saying you were taking the dog out for a poo sounded unnecessarily explicit.

These days, we're becoming more comfortable mentioning bodily functions. So maybe we shouldn't be that surprised to see the rather dull and unappealing air freshener brand taking such a huge leap into the 21st century. We are, though. If anyone were going to embrace the inventively scatological lingo of the Harmon Brothers, Air Wick would not be the obvious candidate... and not on TV, either. It's one thing going viral online, but it's a whole other brave approach to take on the tellybox.

Good on them, we say. At only 30 seconds, it's a more disciplined piece than its progenitors, and gets to the nub of the matter efficiently. Anything that enables us to acknowledge last night's Guinness vindaloo doesn't smell so hot today has to be a healthy step forward; and we think this is bound to get people talking.

BT Mobile
"Numbers"

Matt said:

Woeful by any measure.


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 54 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

Air Wick
"V.I.Poo"
30s
13 Feb 2017
This ad for Air Wick's latest stench quencher appears to have been heavily inspired by similar ads in the toilet trace erasing genre. It doesn't quite reach the heights of Squatty Potty's absurdist humour, but we appreciate the visuals and VIP twist on combating the, uh, 'devil's dumplings' regardless.

Air Wick
"Shapes and Sizes"
20s
15 Mar 2016
Air Wick attempt to peddle their latest advancement in anti-musk technology by claiming every kind of room is appropriate for their new scented oil warmer. It's a passable conceit from the offset, but by the time the script clutches at straws with "tall rooms you climb to", it's going to take a lot of the advertised product to cover the smell of desperation.

Air Wick
"No Added Water"
20s
5 Oct 2015
Um, how much air freshener do you need to spray to create precipitation indoors? Air Wick seem to think people must want to breathe lungfuls of artificial fragrances all day long, because they've created a new spray with no added water - so your hair won't frizz when all that humidity turns to droplets and succumbs to gravity.

Air Wick
"Bath"
30s
25 Feb 2015
Not only can you fill your home with nose-stinging synthetic approximations of natural smells, you can now buy what we would call Assault Aromas. These devices aren't content with using a single nose-stinger to assail your olfactory bulb - they fire a barrage of such abominations into the air under the pretext that they will change and improve your mood. Shoot us now.

Air Wick
"National Parks Range"
30s
24 Feb 2014
This gets an extra star for its unintentional hilarity. A new range based on the smell of different National Parks? "Darling, I'm in the mood for the Brecon Beacons; what about you?" "I'd prefer a whiff of Exmoor, if I'm honest." We get that Snowdonia may smell crisper than the New Forest, but really? And check out the, er, perfumier - she looks ready to be sectioned. Well you would be, working on that, wouldn't you?

Air Wick
"Pearl After Pearl"
20s
16 Oct 2013
"Indulge yourself in Airwick Essential Pearls", the saccharin VO urges us. Meanwhile - to illustrate what that would be like - a woman wanders dazed and confused into a room empty of nearly everything but CG bubbles. She seems to think they've lifted her into the air... is that what you really want from an artificial fragrance?

Air Wick
"Pink Sweetpea"
20s
8 Jun 2013
"The House of Airwick..." "exclusive fragrances blended by master perfumiers..." Wait a sec: we're talking air fresheners here, not Chanel. Is this pile of twaddle - complete with topiary peacock whose tail shoots up suggestively at the sight of a deranged woman - simply preparing us for a ludicrously expensive way to make our homes smell of misery and desperation?

Air Wick
"Spray Dance"
20s
14 May 2013
"Something in the Air Wick" is a slightly unfortunate line to use with this particular concept. Whatever it is, it's having a rather hallucinatory effect on the unflatteringly-dressed woman breathing in the chemical fragrance squirted by the chap in the checked shirt.

Air Wick
"The Spirit of Spring"
20s
5 Feb 2013
DAVID's opposition to air fresheners isn't so hard-nosed that he cannot concede this is a decently done visual metaphor. Punters unconcerned about the environmental cost of this idiotic product will probably be entranced by the idea that their living rooms can smell like a spring woodland... or, more likely, a recently-valeted car.

Air Wick
"Odour Tank"
30s
5 Sep 2012
"Imagine if bad odours looked like this," implores the voiceover as we see a tank filled with smoke. The supers remind us that they don't and that the fashion in which the advertised product clears the 'smoke' is complete fiction but that might not stop punters from picking up an Air Wick product.

Air Wick
"Here, Here & Here"
20s
3 Apr 2012
The advertised air freshener apparently contains bubbles and this arouses the excitement of a couple who roll around their living room in a salacious manner. This is a side-effect of the chemicals used to create a facsimile of fresh air.

Air Wick
"Odour Detect"
20s
12 Jan 2012
Family members react to the horrible smells around the house before cancelling them out by using the advertised product. According to the commercial, the product automatically detects foul aromas and releases a spurt of chemical yuk... which raises an obvious question: what happens if it detects itself?

Air Wick
"Light Show"
20s
10 Oct 2011
It's hard to even describe the contempt we feel for this product but we're here to judge advertising not products. Handily, though, the commercial is almost as awful as the product and we're dripping with contempt for it too.

Air Wick
"Brighten"
20s
11 Jul 2011
This ad claims that Air Wick's latest variant can actually detect bad smells and fire some of its foul pollutants into the air to offset the odour. This is illustrated by showing a dog who creates an angry-looking profile on some sort of pong-o-meter illustrating the product's effectiveness.

Air Wick
"Fresh Air"
20s
27 Jun 2011
When this ad refers to a "new generation of aerosols" we thought it was a trail for a new series of Skins. Boom boom. in fact, it's referring to the claim that this product is environmentally friendly because it's not as environmentally unfriendly as the version they were selling last week.

Air Wick
"Brighten Up"
20s
20 Apr 2011
The latest offering from Air Wick enables punters to set their air freshener on one of three different settings. Like a microwave oven, we imagine that the only setting that'll ever be used is the one that fills the house with the greatest amount of artificial aroma.

Air Wick
"Touch Of Luxury"
30s
21 Feb 2011
It looks to us as though the advertised product may be infused with hallucinogens as a woman experiences a series of visions as she walks around her apartment. Actually, we wouldn't be that surprised if there was a variant called Chinese Opium Den.

Air Wick
"Flowers"
30s
25 Nov 2010
This ad asks us to imagine if we could control the aromas in our home before telling us that we can. Since products like this have been around for quite a while, it can't really come as any great surprise that this is possible and there's nothing to suggest that it is desirable.

Air Wick
"Ribbon After Ribbon"
20s
4 Oct 2010
This horrible commercial for Air Wick is this year's first Christmas ad. It promises to fill your home with ribbons (metaphorically speaking... there are no actual ribbons, that would be silly). So if you want your home to smell of mulled wine but can't be arsed to make any, this is the product for you.

Air Wick
"A Touch Of Luxury"
30s
13 Apr 2010
A woman's living room is set afloat on a small lake to illustrate the invigorating and natural aroma provided by the advertised product. This has been stylishly filmed and is a big improvement on animated rabbits and hysterical American women.

Air Wick
"Adventure"
30s
13 Mar 2010
That's right... spraying your living room with the advertised product is exactly like taking a walk through a tropical forest. If only the explorers of the 19th century had had one of these then Africa would have remained The Dark Continent and Bob Geldof wouldn't have sworn on telly.

Air Wick
"In Tune"
30s
5 Feb 2010
A woman has to deal with all the pesky smells brought into her home by her family. Luckily for her, she doesn't give a toss about the environment and is happy to purchase the advertised product and pump artificial notions of freshness around her house.

Air Wick
"Feels Christmassy"
30s
17 Nov 2009
If the animated rabbit is having mulled wine at her Christmas party then why does she need an Air Wick device to pump out the smell of mulled wine? Surely the mulled wine smell from the mulled wine would do the job. And, she's a rabbit... what's that all about?

Air Wick
"Ready For Christmas"
20s
12 Oct 2009
The animated rabbit from the previous ads tells us that it's never too early to start thinking about Christmas. This isn't true of course... October 12th is far too early to start thinking about Christmas and pumping 'mulled wine fragrance' around your house is just weird.

Air Wick
"Ostrich"
30s
27 May 2009


1-25 of 54 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.