David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

What have you done to David Reviews?

A lot. As well as all the cosmetic changes, we've updated all the gubbins behind the scenes and you should now find that your searches are much faster than they were.

The changes are going to enable us to enhance the service over the coming weeks and months - we hope you'll like what you see.

Speaking of searches, what's happened to the advanced search?

It's coming back. Having made such a fundamental overhaul of the whole site, we've had to rebuild everything from scratch and although we planned to complete this task over the Christmas break, we didn't quite manage it.

An improved version of the 'advanced search' will be in place by Monday 27th January.

Where are the news stories?

We're being sent more and more news stories all the time and we want to do them justice. By 24th January, they will have been re-introduced and we think you'll like the new format.

It sounds like it's been a lot of work?

It's good of you to notice.

You wouldn't believe how much work it's been. Managing the transition while continuing to stay up to date with all the latest work has been a Herculean task. But we're getting there.

When will the newsletter be back? We love the newsletter.

The Newsletter is now back. If you're not receiving it, please email us.

And we're glad you like the newsletter... we like it too.

Who is David?

When we first launched in 2002, we were selling DVD subscriptions and DaViD was a complex acronym that stood for 'advertising intelligence on DVD'. It also enabled us to position ourselves as 'David' against the 'Goliath' that was Xtreme Information. Are they still going?

When we launched the web site, it turned out that our audience liked it better than the DVDs so we switched our focus to that and even though the name didn't really make sense any more we kept it.

Can I call you David when I phone?

Why the hell not... everyone else does?

Where are my lists?

The lists are now back online and you can add to them and create new lists. Soon you'll be able to change the running order and delete clips from lists.

Aren't you going to have to amend this page as soon as you've delivered all these promises?

Er, good point. Or sneakily move the dates if we don't quite make it.

We don't have a subscription. How much does it cost?

A Standard Company subscription costs £599 plus VAT (if applicable) and a Premium subscription costs £999 plus VAT (if applicable). Just phone Jason Stone on 0141 776 7766.

Don't you have some kind of e-commerce so we can buy online?

It's a-coming.

QUESTIONS

What's happened to the advanced search?

Where are the news stories?

When will you start sending the newsletter again?

Who is David?

How much for a subscription?
QUICK SEARCH

Five Star Work

du Telecom
"The Man Sitting Next to You"
85s
28 Mar 2017
A trip to the cinema offers ideal escapism for a couple of hours. Unfortunately, it only takes one crunch, slurp, or waft from a fellow patron to break the illusion. For anyone whos suffered such picturehouse blues, du Telecom feels your pain. Rarely has the worst of cinema etiquette looked so good as arm hairs mingle, popcorn combusts, and nachos literally swim in melted cheese.

ITV Racing
"Grand National"
60s
26 Mar 2017
John Cooper Clarke and The Maccabees's 'Pelican' combine to give this ITV Racing promo terrific energy. The broadcaster taps into how the annual Aintree meeting captures the nation's imagination - and turns us all into racing savants. Form goes out the window when it comes to picking a contender; instead, it's all about "their colours and their funny names".

Nationwide
"Mother's Day"
2 mins
26 Mar 2017
The latest instalment in VCCP's campaign for Nationwide featuring young poets is a really moving piece of work. Filmed just twenty-four hours before it was broadcast, it has Laurie Ogden articulating the feelings of Gavin - a young man from Belfast - in a specially composed poem for Mother's Day.

Sixt
"The Cult"
30s
26 Mar 2017
There's a very strong idea behind this irreverent commercial for car rental company Sixt and it grabs your attention with both hands before nutting you in the face with it. A funny script from Grey London gave the directorial team an awful lot to work with and they largely deliver: Keith and his new wife are on the money but mum and dad are a tad stilted.

Virgin Media
"Non-Stop Entertainment"
90s
23 Mar 2017
Sometimes more is more, and Virgin Media prove it with this full-throttle commercial. A stampede of cinematic archetypes race against one another in a high-tech tunnel; Supermen, cowgirls, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles are all along for the ride. We dont fancy the Prohibition gangsters chances, though - theyve got a right Muppet at the wheel.

moneysupermarket.com
"Skeletor"
60s
23 Mar 2017
Skeletor saved with moneysupermarket.com, and now he feels epic. So epic, in fact, that he's ready to renounce a life of universe-conquering and dance through the streets to Irene Cara's 'Fame'. The villain quickly wins the town over with his hip-thrusting moves... which we can't quite imagine Frank Langella busting out.

Berocca
"Panjabi MC"
30s
20 Mar 2017
Berocca aim to energise the nation with this entertaining ad for their fizzy yellow vitamin tablets. Far from being just a hangover cure, the brand want you to know that the drink can give you bags of energy and all the get-up and go you need. Roccy the chameleon embodies this vitamin-fuelled nugget of joie de vivre as he struts his stuff deep in the jungle.

Bulmers
"Percentages"
60s
17 Mar 2017
Bulmers Ireland show us a scene with a twist in this energetic ad. A pulsing soundtrack accompanies what looks like a house party only the cool kids are invited to, but appearances can be deceiving... Soon the scene is annotated with percentages which make witty observations about what's really going on with the partygoers.

KFC
"Irish Chicken"
74s
16 Mar 2017
Randy O'Brien is back to introduce KFC's O'Sanders Feast just in time for St Paddy's Day - and yes, it does include potatoes. In one of BBH's final pieces of work for the brand, Randy attempts to make a '200%' Irish meal through a montage of stereotypes sure to make anyone of Irish descent chuckle: huge families, rain, and, of course, leprechauns.

Hornbach
"No Regrets"
67s
16 Mar 2017
This ad for German DIY retailer Hornbach is barmy - and brilliant. It opens with a man building a house in an idyllic setting (we assume this is a common German leisure activity), who takes an unexpected tumble just as his son arrives. The lad starts to weep for his loss, and the years of expensive therapy in his future, but then a very different sound begins...

Sky Sports
"No More One Horse Race"
45s
16 Mar 2017
Nico Rosbergs retirement following his 2016 title victory left many Formula One fans shocked - and presumably left his closest rivals delighted. Pole position is up for grabs, yet this beautifully shot Sky Sports promo draws from a different track sport. While there isnt a car in sight, theres plenty of horsepower.

IKEA
"Rug"
45s
15 Mar 2017
Jonny & Will have good form when it comes to Ikea ads. Having helped bring Dougal Wilsons tale of migrating t-shirts to life, the pair assume directing duties in this charming Aussie commercial. When the alarm goes off, an especially hirsute hand reaches over. Turns out its a sheepskin rug - or Ludde, to give its proper Ikea delineation.

James Wellbeloved
"Mega City"
90s
10 Mar 2017
Amazon recently showed you cant go wrong with a busker and his dog. Pet food brand James Wellbeloved take this notion to heart with this beautifully animated commercial. A young chap braves an endless downpour to save for better times ahead. Alas, generosity is hard to come by in this grim metropolis. As faceless commuters trudge by, the lad manages a few pennies each night. Still, every penny counts.

Sun Life
"Life After 50"
60s
9 Mar 2017
Over fifty equals over the hill? Not if Sun Life has anything to do with it. Long associated with the likes of Michael Parkinson offering free Parker pens just for enquiring, the insurer flips the script in this all-action commercial. The entertaining script encourages growing old disgracefully with some well-staged beats.

Seat
"Race Car"
90s
10 Mar 2017
This commercial represents a massive improvement for a brand whose previous advertising has been so lacking in ambition it suggested the car's manufacturers didn't have any confidence in it. Gone are the hoary clichs of family life - instead we're given an emotional glimpse of the car's inner life. The vehicle in question is a racing car and as it's removed from storage every day to see if it can improve on yesterday's times, it yearns for a more fulfilling life on the open road.

Volvo
"ABC of Death"
45s
9 Mar 2017
In contrast to the poignancy of their last outing, this film by German upstarts Dorian Lebherz and Daniel Titz is funny from the word go. It recounts the 'ABC of death' as we see people perish in various ways, and we only appreciate how dark some of them are after we've started laughing (D is for Dora... yikes).

Volvo
"Human Made"
90s
8 Mar 2017
This cultured Volvo commercial is touchy-feely in the best possible way. The carmaker claims its the human touch that inspires them. Instead of a portentous VO describing myriad design features, the ad favours a more tactile approach. Subtle gestures make a big impression - for Volvo, this is the ideal starting point when designing their interiors.

Jose Cuervo
"Last Days"
2 mins
7 Mar 2017
It's the end of the world as we know it... and with a little tequila we'll feel just fine. Jose Cuervo encourage us to live in the moment in this poignantly defiant film, set in a remote dive bar as the apocalypse looms. Some of the bar's patrons flee and take their chances in the storm, while others decide to stay put and wait for the inevitable.

Land Rover
"Night Sounds"
1 min 40s
4 Mar 2017
The creatures of the night come out to play in this sensory treat for Land Rover. Beautifully shot by Gorgeouss Chris Palmer and DP Barry Ackroyd, even nature cant resist a gander at the new Range Rover Velar. Predators lurk in the shadows, but even they know theyre outmuscled by the four-wheeled visitor. Try telling that porcupine to shift, though.

E.on
"Epic Journey"
40s
3 Mar 2017
Ahh... the cupboard under the stairs - convenient dumping ground for everything from gym equipment to Harry Potter. This fun E.on commercial depicts what happens when we let said cupboard get the upper hand, and this chap is forced to navigate all sorts in search of the electricity meter. Good thing E.on have some smart solutions up their sleeve.

GambleAware
"Machine"
45s
2 Mar 2017
The spirit of gambling targets another vulnerable individual in this latest GambleAware ad. Standing at the back of this darkened pub, he needles a lone drinker like a jilted lover channelling his inner Ben Kingsley. He toys with his prey, threatening to pass his winnings on to her or him, him or her before his true form is revealed. Unsettling and superbly acted.

Road Safety
"Designated Driver"
60s
1 Mar 2017
This road safety film reminds us that dangerous driving comes in many forms. A woman picks up her sozzled partner from the pub. She shows commendable restraint while he regales her with hazy anecdotes that is until she picks up her phone. In a darkly comic twist, they both agree the drunken one is in a better state to drive.

Verizon
"Half House"
60s
1 Mar 2017
This whimsical Verizon commercial takes us into 8 Maple Street - an address which takes the term halfway home to extreme levels. Good luck to the estate agent who ever has to shift this place. Still, the family seems content with their ultra-cosy existence. Always helps when youve got rapid upload and download speeds in every cubby-hole.

Uniqlo
"Wireless Bra"
66s
27 Feb 2017
Sassy, stylish and snappy, this beguiling Uniqlo commercial suggests - in no uncertain manner - that sitting still is going out of fashion. A group of women in chic but conservative officewear start getting busy with dance moves which emphasise half of them are in a state of semi-undress, and the use of Starcrawler's 'Ants' as a soundtrack with its buzz-saw riff is an inspired choice.

Toyota
"Good Chat"
90s
28 Feb 2017
This touching ad for Toyota explores the value of silence. In a world where we're increasingly encouraged to be open about our feelings, whether in person or shouting into the technological void, director Hamish Rothwell demonstrates that sometimes it's more powerful to say nothing at all.

Five Star Work

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.