David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

Ford
"The Chase"
3 mins 24s
4 March 2017
Switzerland Cars

A focus group takes an unexpected turn in this energetic ad for Ford. Filmed in and around their factory in Cologne, the car giant lets World Rally Championship driver Toni Kelly and fearless BMX stunt rider Sebastian Keep put the new vehicle through its paces.

There's some extremely impressive stunt work here: stomach-churning bike jumps, smashed windscreens, and several near-misses as Keep's disgruntled Ford employee attempts to keep up with the brazen car thief determined to take a test drive.

The sense of fun is especially compelling here, as Kelly in particular seems to be having the time of her life evading capture. A sequence inside the Ford factory itself sees her cursing and laughing as she tries to stay one step ahead of her gravity-defying adversary.

While there seems to be some confusion online about the wisdom of implying that a BMX bike can keep up with the advertised car (the point whistling over heads with not nearly as much panache as Sebastian Keep), this kinetic film shows off the vehicle's capabilities while keeping the audience fully engaged. Compelling stuff from director Konrad Begg - not for the faint-hearted.

Jose Cuervo
"Last Days"

Matt said:

'Tomorrow is overrated' is an amazing endline for a tequila.


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-25 of 43 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

Ford
"The Chase"
3 mins 24s
4 Mar 2017
A focus group takes an unexpected turn in this energetic ad for Ford. Filmed in and around their factory in Cologne, the car giant lets World Rally Championship driver Toni Kelly and fearless BMX stunt rider Sebastian Keep put the new vehicle through its paces. Featuring some extremely impressive stunt work, this isn't for the faint-hearted.

Ford
"Tsk"
30s
24 Jul 2016
Ahh, the deafening sound of British disapproval. Almost soothing, isn't it? As part of their ongoing 'Unlearn' campaign, Ford present a subtle chorus of scorn as the new breed of SUV drivers takes to the road. Bold colours amidst a wave of silvers in the cricket club car park, patience towards learner drivers, and a muddy and proud paint job may earn some textbook "tsks" from some onlookers, but the old guard are advised to rethink their particular rules of the road.

Ford
"The Wrestler"
1 min 50s
11 Apr 2016
The visual spectacle of Mexican wrestling has lured quite a few creatives to make it the centre of their scripts but no-one's ever come up with anything quite as strange as this. Silver King - a real star of the sport who starred alongside Jack Black in Nacho Libre - comes up against an opponent who just won't fold. It's a car seat... and King does a fine job of ensuring we realise it's a worthy adversary.

Ford
"Unlearn Manifesto"
45s
20 Jan 2016
This online accompaniment to the main campaign sets out the 'unlearn manifesto' and explains the concept that lies behind the new approach. As with its more moneyed TVC cousin, it's steering us towards a conclusion which involves jettisoning our prejudices about vehicles made by Ford... which is a pretty bold move.

Ford
"Unlearn"
60s
20 Jan 2016
Ford wants us to rethink our approach to their cars and communicates this by suggesting we 'unthink' our attitude to a number of other things. 'Default' by Django Django combines well with the lovely vignettes shot by director Steve Cope but this falls a little short if it wants punters to radically change their view of the advertised marque.

Ford
"Fastback Drive"
60s
12 Oct 2015
Hollywood heartthrob Gerard Butler endorses the new Ford Fastback in this highly polished spot, designed to give the brand some much-needed glamour. We're sure it'll do the job very well for its target audience as they watch it being "tested on the best highways in the world" - slick, sporty, dynamic and, importantly, affordable.

Ford
"GT at Le Mans"
1 min 50s
25 Jun 2015
Ford draws on its heritage as a racing car in this commercial announcing the marque's participation in next year's Le Mans race. After watching footage of its previous success, the car itself is stirred into action and speeds irresponsibly through the streets of Paris (more or less like every other French driver) and heading south to the iconic course.

Ford
"Wanna Be Like You"
30s
6 Jun 2015
The combination of a very cute child and a classic track from Disney's The Jungle Book prove as charming as you might imagine in this lovely new ad for Ford. Our only gripe - as we've pointed out before - is that there's a great long list of features at the end but we keep seeing commercials which focus on the same one.

Ford
"All New Mondeo"
65s
31 Mar 2015
A transfixing light show demonstrates the sleek design features of Ford's new take on the Mondeo. The minimalist electronic track adds a cool mellowness to this well-crafted ad courtesy of director Ben Fries and Forever Pictures. It's pleasing to experience an altogether classier method of saying, "Look at our shiny new car" every once in a while, even if the car itself isn't hugely thrilling.

Ford
"Lollipop"
30s
11 Mar 2015
An impeccably-ripped guy strolls up the beach in snug blue trunks as fellow sunbathers check him out. He reaches his Ford car... but oh - where's his key? He looks down in the direction of his trunks and smiles. Proximity is enough to open the doors which is certainly handy if you're carrying a full load of shopping... or wanting to maintain a cool aura as you climb into your car at the beach.

Ford
"Night Flight"
60s
28 Dec 2014
When a falling power line snuffs out the lights on a small landing strip, a gallant Ford driver jumps into action. Using his dynamic LED headlights, he guides a tiny plane to safety and we suspect the grateful - and glamorous - pilot will be only too willing to show him how a joystick works. Just wish this spot explained how the headlights actually helped.

Ford
"Fairy Tale"
60s
12 Aug 2014
The problem with being given three equally tempting options is that having to choose a single one will never satisfy you. And in this Brazillian ad for Ford, our princess may get to enjoy a male harem but she won't get more technology and better economy in just one car. The tranquility we're sure she can live without; we're sure one of those hunks is a wizz with the massage oils. Still, it's fun and if cars were allowed in Game of Thrones, we bet they'd be Fords.

Ford
"Play Your Part"
20s
14 Jul 2014
Olympic curler Eve Muirhead woodenly tells us she's playing her part to support the Commonwealth Games by baking cupcakes for the athletes, while her friend films her on a phone camera. What? No-one cares about your cupcakes, Eve, no-one cares. (You can upload your own footage to the advertised web site in the unlikely event that you're feeling sufficiently engaged.)

Ford
"Under My Skin"
30s
4 Feb 2014
The body of a workaday Ford drops over the stripped-back body of a racing car in this spot, while the VO talks about the fuel-efficient engine. We're meant to infer that the ordinary car is not only a bit on the nippy side but also doesn't bleed you dry at the petrol pump but racing cars aren't necessarily where you want to start when emphasising fuel economy.

Ford
"Rooftop Parking"
30s
29 Aug 2013
If this technology is all it says it is, then Ford are missing a real opportunity to show us just how impressive it really is. For while the woman appears to be letting the vehicle take responsibility for her safety - indeed, her life - we don't get the sheer sense of heart-in-mouth wonder that this stunt should provoke.

Ford
"Stairfall"
40s
9 Jul 2013
This is an interesting idea but it doesn't quite come off. A man hurls himself down a flight of steps to be picked up and carried off by paramedics at the bottom. It's a metaphor demonstrating how your new Ford car can alert the emergency services if you have an accident, but you're left with the suggestion that you have to drive recklessly to achieve this outcome.

Ford
"Rearview Race"
65s
9 Jul 2013
Ford draw attention to one of their technological benefits by demonstrating what their rearview cameras are capable of. Obviously, you wouldn't consider racing someone backwards through a dock dodging suspended freight containers, but this is an ad after all and it wouldn't have the same impact if they were doing 15mph down a suburban cul de sac.

Ford
"Skier"
30s
27 Jun 2013
Hmm. How to make Ford seem more glamorous as a brand? Why not have an ace skier drive one? And better still, he can demonstrate that you don't have to take your skis off before you open the boot, thanks to the optional 'hands-free' facility. Well, that should make the car a must-buy for all those out on the piste.

Ford
"Cane Toad Road"
90s
30 May 2012
This hilarious Australian commercial features a conversation between two cane toads sat on a highway. One of them is extremely knowledgeable about many things but he doesn't know quite as much about cars as he thinks he does and this has pretty serious consequences. Excellent lip synching.

Ford
"Metamorphosis"
60s
19 May 2012
Ford appear to be claiming that the advertised model is all things to all people in this ad that sees its colour metamorphose to suit those admiring it from the street. Strangely, this has the effect of making the viewer pay less attention to the vehicle's unusual shape than might be expected.

Ford
"Petrol vs Diesel"
40s
2 Apr 2012
According to this ad, the two teams responsible for producing Ford's diesel and petrol engines are relentlessly competitive with one another. This is what spurs them to greater efficiency and leads them to fight over the coffee.

Ford
"Mathias's Real World Challenge"
30s
16 Jan 2012
Ford asked Mathias to test the advertised car's "econetic technology" by visiting all the locations in his favourite book - The Da Vinci Code. Sorry but we're confused... if his favourite book is The Da Vinci Code, why didn't you cut his brake cables and be done with it?

Ford
"Dog"
2 mins
19 Jun 2011
This amusing French ad brings to mind another car ad with a very similar name... Cog. There are doggy antics in this one and although much of it appears to have been captured in a single shot, it's asking a lot of canine performers to expect them to emulate the flawnessness of the original.

Ford
"Simulator"
60s
27 May 2009
This impressive looking ad has a baffling proposition. Because we all need a bit of magic in our lives, Ford's cars are designed to look as though they're moving even when they're not. Doesn't that make them a bit of a bugger to get into?

Ford
"Factory"
60s
13 May 2009
According to this Chinese ad, the Ford is made in a pretty magical factory where flying mechanics put it together using trickery that's like a cross between Hidden Dragon Crouching Tiger and Mission impossible.

1-25 of 43 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.