David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

Huawei
"Reveal The Real You"
1 min 43s
3 October 2017
UK Telecommunications

Technology giant Huawei partner with culture hub Dazed for this thoughtful profile of photographer Campbell Addy. The British-Ghanaian discusses identity and acceptance as his portfolio appears on-screen. Together with Addy’s bid for more diverse stock imagery, this is a thoughtful reminder of photography’s cultural weight.

Sky Q
"Popcorn"

George said:

What's "Haitch D"? Is that the next generation of high def?


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-12 of 12 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

Huawei
"Reveal The Real You"
1 min 43s
3 Oct 2017
Technology giant Huawei partner with culture hub Dazed for this thoughtful profile of photographer Campbell Addy. The British-Ghanaian discusses identity and acceptance as his portfolio appears on-screen. Together with Addy’s bid for more diverse stock imagery, this is a thoughtful reminder of photography’s cultural weight.

Huawei
"Photoshoot"
60s
14 Aug 2017
Huawei big up the camera features on their new P10 model in this classy ad. Skott's 'Glitter and Gloss' accompanies sleek of models lounging artfully and posing in various locations. The implication that the P10's camera makes life a photo shoot is neatly executed, and we get plenty of shots of the product to hammer that home.

Huawei
"Porsche Design"
1 min 33s
12 Jan 2017
Huawei and Porsche collaborate on a new smartphone apparently based on their shared design sensibilities. Voices from both parties try to convince us of the fact, but it’s the visuals that command our attention. One question remains: does owning this count as owning a Porsche?

Huawei
"Snap or Shoot?"
75s
25 Oct 2016
This ad for Huawei divides all potential photo takers into two categories, "snappers" and "shooters". Viewers are urged to identify with the unique viewpoint of the "shooters", rather than the more casual Instagram-food-pictures style of the "snappers". Although the "ask yourselfie" line at the end is slightly jarring, the vibrant colours and fast paced editing help to make the idea of a being a "shooter" desirable.

Huawei
"The Wall"
60s
10 Aug 2016
This visually striking ad for Huawei has Lionel Messi facing down a defensive wall with a serious "You shall not pass!" policy. Opponents, the media (a recurring target for football-based advertising this summer), and even a rampaging scoreboard combine to form an impenetrable barrier. However, all it takes is a selfie with a fan to inspire the Argentine wizard to score. It's not the most graceful brand integration we've seen, but Knucklehead's Gary Shore steers the VFX spectacle with a sure hand.

Huawei
"Scarlett & Henry"
60s
24 May 2016
This attractively filmed game of one-upmanship between Scarlett Johansson and Henry Cavill sees the two put their Huawei P9 smartphones to artistic use. While Johansson uses an eclectic film set as her inspiration, Cavill does his best James Bond while wandering the streets of Shanghai for the perfect snap. A starry and alluring means of showcasing the telecom giant's photo-friendly device.

Huawei
"Touch"
90s
24 Oct 2015
Smuggler's Joshua Neale has created a lovely compendium of touching moments in this commercial made for Chinese telecommunication company Huawei. Twenty-seven different vignettes are depicted in just ninety seconds as Neale seeks to demonstrate the many different ways in which we touch one another.

Huawei
"Shark Dancer"
3 mins 15s
27 Sep 2015
One of two fascinating spots by Juriaan Booij for Huawei, this features a woman who spends much of her life among sharks; removing fishing hooks that have become embedded in them and demonstrating a connection with them with them based on touch. In this film, we watch transfixed as she strokes a shark's snout and sends it into a vertical daze while its companions mill about her placidly.

Huawei
"Feeling Colours"
2 mins 29s
27 Sep 2015
This film for Huawei's pressure-sensitive touch screen is one of two by director Juriaan Booij looking at the role of touch in our lives. Often overlooked because we take it so much for granted, this particular sense is just as essential as the others and it's perhaps only when we're deprived of sight that we realise how dependent we are on it.

Huawei
"School of Pronunciation"
2 mins 45s
26 May 2015
When the teamsheet lands in front of a commentator, certain names seem purposefully designed to strike fear into the vocal cords of many a microphone-wielding pundit. A mispronunciation can lead to national scandal, while individual interpretation can lead to a painful mess over the airwaves. Gordon Friend, representative of telecommunications giant Huawei, is here to help.

Huawei
"P8 Paint"
30s
5 Dec 2016


Huawei
"Selfie Crew"
80s
5 Sep 2017


1-12 of 12 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.