David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

BBC iPlayer
"Steve the Dog"
60s
18 May 2017
UK TV Stations

BBC iPlayer introduce us to Steve, an amiable dog who's learning to love all the benefits of signing into the BBC app. There's a heavy focus on personalisation, as Steve begins to curate his content so he's not just watching any old thing, and he discovers such delights as a meaty Masterchef and the soundtrack to 'Cats'. The app itself seems like a lot of effort to try and catch license fee dodgers, but Steve certainly seems to be enjoying it.

Apple iPhone
"Barbers"

Rob said:

I bet the person who 'really' voted poor won't own up...


CLICK HERE TO SEE CLIP

QUICK SEARCH

1-21 of 21 Results

ADD SEARCH RESULTS TO A LIST

BBC iPlayer
"Steve the Dog"
60s
18 May 2017
BBC iPlayer introduce us to Steve, an amiable dog who's learning to love all the benefits of signing into the BBC app. There's a heavy focus on personalisation, as Steve begins to curate his content so he's not just watching any old thing, and he discovers such delights as a meaty Masterchef and the soundtrack to 'Cats'. The app itself seems like a lot of effort to try and catch license fee dodgers, but Steve certainly seems to be enjoying it.

BBC iPlayer
"Track"
30s
9 May 2016
A girl insists to her friends she's heard the latest essential track on Charlie Sloth's BBC Radio 1 show. Of course, giving a live rendition even to a four-strong crowd is a tough gig, and she's less than impressed by her audience's reaction. Luckily, there's always the BBC iPlayer Radio service to do the tune's "bang" and "pop" credentials full justice.

BBC iPlayer
"Cliffhanger"
30s
9 May 2016
It's a sober atmosphere in this boozer as a woman describes some tense goings-on to her unseen companion. When she's asked how the situation escalates, we lean in for the details as well. Unlike some, our narrator pumps the brakes before venturing into spoiler territory - her colleague can experience it for herself on the BBC iPlayer. Another compelling film for the rewind service.

BBC iPlayer
"Galaxies"
30s
26 Apr 2016
This subtle ad for the BBC iPlayer taps into the satisfaction we feel when time spent catching up on our favourite programmes produces a nugget of knowledge. Within the confines of a cycle shop, a man attempts to explain the vastness of our universe to his disbelieving colleague using only a spanner. A neat depiction of how last night's telly can spark today's conversation.

BBC iPlayer
"Let It Snow"
15s
14 Dec 2015
Some cute children stare wistfully out of windows in the hope they'll catch sight of the first few flakes heralding a white Christmas in this BBC iPlayer spot for the weather. As Dean Martin sings 'Let It Snow' their expressions are in stark contrast to his cheery tones - but hey... there's still time for the skies to come good, right?

BBC iPlayer
"Pre-Party"
15s
16 Sep 2015
Before the party, there's the pre-party party, or so this 15" ad for the BBC iPlayer goes. While this group of friends get ready for a big night out, there's no excuse for not getting into the spirit ahead of time thanks to access to the BBC's various radio stations. Ads for the service often paint the nation as one of insatiable telly addicts, so it's nice for the medium of radio to get its moment in the spotlight.

BBC iPlayer
"Always With You"
30s
13 Aug 2015
It says something about attention to detail that this film promoting the usefulness of the BBC's iPlayer Radio app appears to have been updated to take account of Evan Davis's departure from the Today programme. His place in the ad has been taken by Mishal Husain - one of the new faces brought to Radio 4's flagship news programme.

BBC iPlayer
"Chris Martin"
20s
30 Jun 2015
The anti-Coldplay brigade may well thank the Beeb for interrupting Chris Martin's recording session to discuss his favourite BBC shows. Unfortunately, it doesn't make for a particularly enthralling listen. He so determinedly projects a sense that he's an 'ordinary bloke', he completely undermines any sense that he actually might be normal.

BBC iPlayer
"Claudia Winkleman"
30s
1 Jun 2015
In its own way this is quite sweet. We're all idly curious to some degree as to what makes people tick, and in terms of telly Claudia Winkleman tells us she can't live without Bake Off - she's looking forward to the new series so she can have Bake Off parties and wear Bake Off hats again. But do we really want to go to iPlayer to find out what else she likes? Winkleman may be more interesting than Chris Martin (who featured on a previous spot) but we still don't feel compelled to know more.

BBC iPlayer
"If You Love Something Let It Show"
60s
20 Mar 2015
Moxie's Vaughan Arnell delivers his customary panache to this film promoting a feature of the BBC iPlayer that enables punters to identify their favourite programmes. The fans of various shows demonstrate their allegiance in all kinds of imaginative ways so let's hope they've taken the trouble to click the little heart button that will let programme-makers know how much they love their output.

BBC iPlayer
"Always There"
30s
2 Mar 2015
Once again we raise the thorny issue of practicality in these spots for iPlayer. We suspect they're trying to convey the speed with which you can track down and connect to a programme by suggesting you watch something in the three minutes you need to fill while waiting for a train, but why go to the bother when you have to stop watching almost immediately?

BBC iPlayer
"Any Situation"
30s
8 Dec 2014
We like iPlayer and it's very useful and all that, but however much telly we at DAVID watch, there's a limit. Why would you watch TV in a checkout queue when you could be glaring at fellow customers who have chosen their queues more wisely? Or attempt to even get a connection when your train's broken down in the middle of nowhere? What's wrong with the good old art of sighing and muttering? Many a great friendship has been forged after a brief battle of elbows.

BBC iPlayer
"Outdoors"
30s
15 Aug 2013
This ad for the BBC's digital player reminds us of summer's great dilemma - should we enjoy the sunshine or should we enjoy watching the people doing stuff in the sunshine? Burbling VO artist Mark Watson suggests we can do both by watching sport on our tablets and phones while sitting outside.

BBC iPlayer
"Africa"
20s
21 Jan 2013
The extraordinary giraffe battle from the first episode of the David Attenborough series 'Africa' is used to remind punters that they can catch up via the BBC's iPlayer service. If you didn't see it then you should think about tracking it down - it's a fantastic piece of television.

BBC iPlayer
"On Your TV"
30s
14 Dec 2012
Clips from various BBC programmes have been cleverly knitted together to make it look as though a verdict is being offered on the broadcaster's iPlayer. Someone must have gone through a lot of footage to find the right moments to use.

BBC iPlayer
"With You"
30s
25 Oct 2012
Evan Davis, Jo Wiley and new boy Nick Grimshaw make you feel as though they are in the room with you when they broadcast in the mornings according to this promotional film for the BBC iPlayer. Mind you, Davis still can't look you in the eye owing to his tendency towards strabismus.

BBC iPlayer
"Pins"
40s
28 Jun 2012
This ad for BBC's iPlayer focuses on the convenience of being able to use it wherever you might be. As an acoustic track plays, people in all kinds of different situations peer at devices for the latest news and programming from our beloved public broadcaster. It's a pleasant piece but it's hard to imagine it having a big impact on usage.

BBC iPlayer
"Intrigue"
60s
12 Oct 2010
According to this film, people are intrigued by the advent of the next level of BBC iPlayer. This may arouse our curiosity but it doesn't provide any answers about the nature of the latest developments and we have no idea how the online player is going to be improved.

BBC iPlayer
"Football Match"
30s
13 Mar 2010
As Dad watches a children's football match in the rain, Mum sensibly shelters in the car watching a real football match on her mobile phone. The contrast between the comfort inside the car and the filthy weather beyond its protective bubble couldn't be greater.

BBC iPlayer
"Sprint"
40s
18 Aug 2008
There's a clever conceit here but it seems to have gone missing between script and finished film and the end result is a little confusing. The idea is that our control over watching the Olympics is so complete that the athletes would become tired from needing to be ready to run day or night but it stretches the point too far.

BBC iPlayer
"CBBC Programmes"
30s
3 Mar 2013


1-21 of 21 Results

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.