David Reviews

 Biting the hand that feeds us since 2002.

What have you done to David Reviews?

A lot. As well as all the cosmetic changes, we've updated all the gubbins behind the scenes and you should now find that your searches are much faster than they were.

The changes are going to enable us to enhance the service over the coming weeks and months - we hope you'll like what you see.

Speaking of searches, what's happened to the advanced search?

It's coming back. Having made such a fundamental overhaul of the whole site, we've had to rebuild everything from scratch and although we planned to complete this task over the Christmas break, we didn't quite manage it.

An improved version of the 'advanced search' will be in place by Monday 27th January.

Where are the news stories?

We're being sent more and more news stories all the time and we want to do them justice. By 24th January, they will have been re-introduced and we think you'll like the new format.

It sounds like it's been a lot of work?

It's good of you to notice.

You wouldn't believe how much work it's been. Managing the transition while continuing to stay up to date with all the latest work has been a Herculean task. But we're getting there.

When will the newsletter be back? We love the newsletter.

The Newsletter is now back. If you're not receiving it, please email us.

And we're glad you like the newsletter... we like it too.

Who is David?

When we first launched in 2002, we were selling DVD subscriptions and DaViD was a complex acronym that stood for 'advertising intelligence on DVD'. It also enabled us to position ourselves as 'David' against the 'Goliath' that was Xtreme Information. Are they still going?

When we launched the web site, it turned out that our audience liked it better than the DVDs so we switched our focus to that and even though the name didn't really make sense any more we kept it.

Can I call you David when I phone?

Why the hell not... everyone else does?

Where are my lists?

The lists are now back online and you can add to them and create new lists. Soon you'll be able to change the running order and delete clips from lists.

Aren't you going to have to amend this page as soon as you've delivered all these promises?

Er, good point. Or sneakily move the dates if we don't quite make it.

We don't have a subscription. How much does it cost?

A Standard Company subscription costs £599 plus VAT (if applicable) and a Premium subscription costs £999 plus VAT (if applicable). Just phone Jason Stone on 0141 776 7766.

Don't you have some kind of e-commerce so we can buy online?

It's a-coming.

QUESTIONS

What's happened to the advanced search?

Where are the news stories?

When will you start sending the newsletter again?

Who is David?

How much for a subscription?
QUICK SEARCH

Five Star Work

Three
"Pink Giraffe"
30s
23 May 2017
Following in the footsteps of Samsung, Cushelle, and Lotus, Three introduce us to a pair of animated giraffes whose confidence levels couldn't be more different. This time the main mammal is a hybrid - a 'giraffeamingo' combining the most distinctive features of both creatures. Bolstered by the ability to enjoy roaming data wherever it travels to, the beast struts, poses, and finally takes off in sheer delight.

BBC 4
"Music Idents"
80s
22 May 2017
BBC Four pay tribute to high fidelity with these well-crafted idents. Tangible and atmospheric, this suite harkens back to analogues heydey. Audiophiles will relish each close-up of tape recorders, audio reels, and phonographs, but its the backing track that shines. Mark Hellabys precise treatment demands a good pair of headphones or speakers.

Canon
"Boundaries"
60s
19 May 2017
Perhaps wary of smartphones stealing their thunder, Canon wish to reassert their photography credentials. Life moves at light speed in this ad depicting youth evolving into young manhood. Like any good story, there are thrills and spills - and the brand wants every moment to look its best. There are no product shots or specifications, so its up to the viewer to follow Canons story thread further.

Sky Sports
"Be Inside the Game"
2 mins
18 May 2017
The grind of pre-season is laid bare in this engrossing Sky Sports promo. The film captures Gaelic footballers and hurlers knee deep in training. Its a world of whiteboards, repetitive drills, and training bibs the roar of the crowd comes later. Believe Medias Michel + Nico are adept at capturing what goes on before kick-off, and this attractively shot piece underlines the preparation required at the highest level.

Apple iPhone
"Barbers"
60s
18 May 2017
Apple are certainly proud of the new Portrait feature on their iPhone 7's camera - so much that they tasked the talented Dougal Wilson to show it single-handedly turning a sleepy barber shop into a thriving business. The professional look of the portraits snapped by an employee soon entices more customers, who are summarily transformed.

Movistar
"Love Story"
3 mins 12s
16 May 2017
Young love takes a sinister turn in this compelling Movistar commercial. Two youngsters exchange text messages and pictures before deciding to meet. As their online relationship blossoms, however, you cant help but feel something is amiss and it is. Well, the course of true love never did run smooth.

Nike
"Cape Town Course"
1 min 40s
15 May 2017
From Gary Player to modern players like Charl Schwartzel and Louis Oosthuizen, South Africas golfing lineage is impressive. Here, Nike give a platform to the next generation and theres not a green in sight. Nothing stops these golfers getting into the swing of things. Every surface becomes a tee, an imaginary flag added to every vista. Improvisation and exploration are encouraged and the sports officious tendencies are hit long.

Dr Giorgini
"One Bad Day"
1 min 46s
12 May 2017
Italian supplement brand Dr Giorgini demonstrate exactly when their brain boosting pills might be needed in this hugely entertaining ad. We follow a father and son through their morning routine. Toast burns, costumes are ruined, and the kid is sent off to school with an endearingly-rubbish, cobbled together version of his spacesuit. Things only get worse from there.

T K Maxx
"Why Shop at T K Maxx?"
60s
11 May 2017
Why would anyone want to shop at T K Maxx? Who would brave the jumble sale of tat to see what gems are buried under a mountain of last season's designer socks and mysterious kitchen implements? This stylish ad answers those questions with aplomb, acknowledging the haphazard nature of the stores with enough panache to suggest it's a virtue rather than a flaw.

Heineken
"The Trailblazers"
1 min 32s
10 May 2017
From social media acclaim to biting parodies, Heinekens Worlds Apart film remains a talking point. However, this commercial returns to one of the lagers trademark memes: an epic bar crawl. Those whove indulged mates as they exaggerate last nights trip to the pub will appreciate this genre-hopping spectacle.

Marks & Spencer
"Spend It Well (Food)"
40s
11 May 2017
What does Valenstein & Fatt's first work for M&S's food reveal? For starters, the synergy between it and last week's offering indicates that Vicki Maguire and her merry creatives are aiming to remind punters that the same clever M&S suppliers who provide them with the food they love, also offer the clothes they keep overlooking.

Arla
"Eat Monday For Breakfast"
30s
9 May 2017
Arla drums home the importance of showing Monday morning who's boss - snooze button be damned. A suitably perky sequence from Firecracker's Joe Roberts encompasses yawning farm animals, revving engines, and slices of toast evading eager hands. The use of an escalating drum beat in the background evokes Budweiser's 'Time' ad as well.

Barclays
"Crash"
60s
8 May 2017
We like to think we can see through any potential scam that arrives in our email inbox. Dodgy punctuation, garbled text, links to unknown addresses familiar signals to keep our cyber-guard up. As this impressive Barclays ad demonstrates, however, the scenarios used by scammers are becoming ever more convincing.

Xbox
"Match Day"
85s
9 May 2017
Chelsea midfielder Willian and Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford star in this entertaining Xbox Live commercial. As we hear commentators and pundits sing their praises, the pair are immersed in their respective zones. Still, somethings a little off about their warm-ups. Weve seen the light stretches and noise-cancelling headphones before, but a hand spa?

Kraft
"Swear Like a Mother"
1 min 35s
5 May 2017
Kraft Mac and Cheese poke fun at not only the image of the unflappable mother, but also their product's reputation as a last resort in this amusing ad. The film stars Melissa Mohr, author of the book 'Holy Sh*T: A Brief History of Swearing', who explains that 74% of mothers have admitted to swearing in front of their kids - which seems like a low estimate to us.

Lidl
"The Smyths"
60s
4 May 2017
Lidl Ireland kicks off a new documentary-style campaign with a pair of entertaining ads. Taking inspiration from the likes of Gogglebox and First Dates, the campaign by Chemistry uses a 'TrolleyCam' to get up close and personal with the public as they go about their weekly shop. This film - focusing on the Smyth family - perfectly captures the hectic experience of shopping with children.

Marks & Spencer
"Spend It Well"
60s
4 May 2017
Like Nancy Reagan and the kids from Grange Hill, Marks & Spencer urge us to 'just say "no"' in this splendid commercial marking the start of Valenstein & Fatt's relationship with one of Britain's best-known retailers. But it's mediocrity rather than intravenous drugs that we're being invited to shake our heads at.

Heinz Baked Beanz
"Office"
30s
3 May 2017
This lovely Heinz Baked Beanz ad does a lot in 30 - something we always appreciate. An office worker greets his Lyrca-clad colleague in the staff kitchen, though he soon wishes he hadnt. Seems this fitness junkies too busy for pleasantries - not with those ravenous muscles. A smart piece of work that reminds us healthy eating neednt be a staid affair.

New Balance
"Dear 677"
76s
3 May 2017
Some say cricket is the supreme numbers game. Runs, bowling averages, the Duckworth-Lewis method everything counts. This gripping New Balance ad reveals that only 676 players have represented England at Test level and the teams new kit maker have a message for whoevers next in line.

UBS
"Life in Numbers"
90s
3 May 2017
From first birthdays and first dates and first jobs and beyond, this skillfully crafted ad for UBS follows one man's life; touching on all the moments which shape him. The scenes are all connected by numbers, building to a final reveal that smart online investment with the advertised bank has allowed him to save up for his daughter's wedding.

Pampers
"Little Fighters"
60s
2 May 2017
This affecting Pampers commercial draws our attention to newborn babies already facing their toughest battle. Set in Southampton Hospitals neonatal unit, the ad depicts a handful of plucky infants and their equally determined carers. Whether you have children or not, its hard not to be moved by this sequence.

Monster
"Telepathy"
40s
2 May 2017
A giant purple monster gets himself into a syntactic tangle in this entertaining ad for - surprise - recruitment company Monster. The big guy knows how special you are and proceeds to tell you in a vaguely threatening manner... at least until he gets tangled up in his own sentences and needs to pause for thought.

StubHub
"Festival"
60s
28 Apr 2017
This highly amusing ad from StubHub reminds us that we're unlikely to meet the love of our life at a gig... if we don't go to gigs. That premise builds up to a bonkers musical crescendo as we follow the life of a lad who had the wherewithall to grab some last minute tickets from the site. It's a total contrast to their 'Machines' ad from the same campaign, and we're interested to see where they take things next.

StubHub
"Machines"
60s
28 Apr 2017
It's not difficult to imagine a world in which artificial intillegence develops a literal mind of its own, and this ad for StubHub presents a nightmarish vision of a future where technology has had enough. In the midst of the apocalypse a man falls to his knees and howls in anguish... for a reason we're not expecting.

Sherwin-Williams
"Epiphany"
30s
27 Apr 2017
Those whove recently given their house a fresh lick of paint may be tempted to go again thanks to this vivid Sherwin-Williams commercial. Plumes of paint surge through space before colliding in spectacular fashion. As hues mingle, the camera glides through clouds and cyclones of colour. Not a bad view, eh?

Five Star Work

David Reviews - Lovely Lenzie Ltd, Woodbourne House, Seven Sisters, Lenzie, G66 3AW. Telephone: +44 141 776 7766. Editor: Jason Stone.